1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Videocard won't work properly

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sel2002, Jul 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sel2002

    sel2002 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    July 5, 2004

    System:
    AMD Athlon 3200XP+ (2.2GHz - Barton)
    ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Motherboard
    - 400MHz FSB
    - nForce2 chipset
    - Dual DDR 400
    Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2PT RAM (2x512)
    PNY GeForce FX 5900 AGP (128MB DDR)
    Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2ZS
    (2) 80GB Maxtor SATA drives (Raid 0)
    Mitsumi 1.44 floppy drive
    Sony DWU18A DVD +/- RW 8X
    Microsoft Keyboard and IR Mouse
    Antec 1080AMG w/420 watt true pwr supply
    Windows XP Professional w/ SP1

    Patches:
    ASUS BIOS 1011
    Current nVidia nVidia GForce2 driver (WHQL)
    nVidia graphics driver 53.03
    MS DirectX 9.0b

    Problem:
    Originally I had an ATI Radeon AIW 9800 Pro graphics card installed. Windows Desktop viewing and television viewing worked fine; however when running MS Flight Simulator 2004 or Rainbow Six
    games the system would crash. Either a bluescreen or just exiting back to the desktop. Sometimes it would note there was a serious error and it wanted to send a report to Microsoft. PC is not
    connected yet so I've never sent a report.

    Replaced the ATI graphics card with a PNY GeForce FX 5900 and completely rebuilt the OS. Again Windows Desktop viewing was okay, however MS Flightsim 2004 and Comanche 4 games would run for about a minute and then crash giving either a bluescreen or error report.

    Troubleshooting:
    I have removed the SoundBlaster card using instead the onboard audio, and then rebuilt everything - still have same problems. Also I've tried either RAM stick by itself to no avail.

    A local PC shop performed diagnosis and concluded that both sticks of RAM were bad or incompatible
    and that the system worked okay with one of their 512MB RAM sticks and their GeForce 4 graphics board.
    Though with their RAM and their FX5900 card the system still would not work. They suggest new RAM is needed and that either the MB is incompatible with the FX 5900 card or MS FS 2004 is not compatible with the FX 5900 (not likely).

    Conclusion:
    The prospect of 'dumbing-down' the graphics card is not an option since this machines primary purpose is to run MS FS 2004. A high-performance graphics card is what is needed for this type of simming. Also, I was under the impression that all of these components are fairly
    high-end / high-quality, so running a lower-end graphics solution is something of a waste.
    I suppose the Corsair RAM could be 'too' tweaked, if so the RAM can be replaced easily enough.
    Why does the system crash in 3D games? The Antec 420 watts truePower should be enough. Could this be BIOS settings?

    I'm out of ideas. Any suggestions or solutions would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  3. sel2002

    sel2002 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    July 6, 2004

    System:
    AMD Athlon 3200XP+ (2.2GHz - Barton)
    ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Motherboard
    - 400MHz FSB
    - nForce2 chipset
    - Dual DDR 400
    Corsair TwinX1024-3200C2PT RAM (2x512)
    PNY GeForce FX 5900 AGP (128MB DDR)
    Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2ZS
    (2) 80GB Maxtor SATA drives (Raid 0)
    Mitsumi 1.44 floppy drive
    Sony DWU18A DVD +/- RW 8X
    Microsoft Keyboard and IR Mouse
    Antec 1080AMG w/420 watt true pwr supply
    Windows XP Professional w/ SP1

    Patches:
    ASUS BIOS 1011
    Current nVidia nVidia GForce2 driver (WHQL)
    nVidia graphics driver 53.03
    MS DirectX 9.0b

    Problem:
    Originally I had an ATI Radeon AIW 9800 Pro graphics card installed. Windows Desktop viewing and television viewing worked fine; however when running MS Flight Simulator 2004 or Rainbow Six
    games the system would crash. Either a bluescreen or just exiting back to the desktop. Sometimes it would note there was a serious error and it wanted to send a report to Microsoft. PC is not
    connected yet so I've never sent a report.

    Replaced the ATI graphics card with a PNY GeForce FX 5900 and completely rebuilt the OS. Again Windows Desktop viewing was okay, however MS Flightsim 2004 and Comanche 4 games would run for about a minute and then crash giving either a bluescreen or error report.

    Troubleshooting:
    I have removed the SoundBlaster card using instead the onboard audio, and then rebuilt everything - still have same problems. Also I've tried either RAM stick by itself to no avail.

    A local PC shop performed diagnosis and concluded that both sticks of RAM were bad or incompatible
    and that the system worked okay with one of their 512MB RAM sticks and their GeForce 4 graphics board.
    Though with their RAM and their FX5900 card the system still would not work. They suggest new RAM is needed and that either the MB is incompatible with the FX 5900 card or MS FS 2004 is not compatible with the FX 5900 (not likely).

    Conclusion:
    The prospect of 'dumbing-down' the graphics card is not an option since this machines primary purpose is to run MS FS 2004. A high-performance graphics card is what is needed for this type of simming. Also, I was under the impression that all of these components are fairly
    high-end / high-quality, so running a lower-end graphics solution is something of a waste.
    I suppose the Corsair RAM could be 'too' tweaked, if so the RAM can be replaced easily enough.
    Why does the system crash in 3D games? The Antec 420 watts truePower should be enough. Could this be BIOS settings?

    I'm out of ideas. Any suggestions or solutions would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.
     
  4. photolady

    photolady

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,391
    Microsoft has a security update that causes games to crash back to the desktop. Removing this hotfix generally fixes this problem. It does this with numerous games and has fixed the problem for many games. Try removing this: hotfix KB824141. You will get a warning about removing it could cause security problems, but it doesn't and Microsoft has already said this hotfix was a problem for games. There is another hotfix to fix the hotfix but it won't be released until SP2 comes out. :(
     
  5. EsTeSs

    EsTeSs

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    hmm very interesting
     
  6. sel2002

    sel2002 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks I'll look into that. So far though I've only installed WinXP Pro SP1a and DirectX 9.0b. Is this hotfix part of those installs?
     
  7. photolady

    photolady

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,391
    SP1a has this hotfix built in.
     
  8. va_247

    va_247

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    I'm having the same problem... A couple differences tho.... Originally... After building my comp... I realized I had a defective motherboard... After a while of trying to figure out a way to work around it... I gave up and bought a new one... The one I am running now has bios 1011 where my first one had bios 1008. The only video game I play on my comp is Neverwinter Nights... I went to the Bioware web site to look around and see if i found anything helpful..but i didnt. Im also using onboard sound. And ive noticed that my hard drive is being read as having different sizes in different places...i.e. when my comp starts up...it shows the hdd as having 186 gigs. in other places the hdd comes up as having 132 gigs... i didn't reformat the hdd after installing the new mobo and the hdd problem was exactly the same with my original mobo...Don't know whether or not it really is the video card tho...I'm lost... Any ideas?

    Specs:

    Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo (BIOS 1011)
    Powercolor Radeon 9600 Pro (256 MB)
    Western Digital 200GB 7200 rpm Hard Drive 8MB Cache
    Antec True Power 550 Watt PSU
    Kingston ValuRAM PC 3200 (2x 512 MB sticks)
    Windows XP Pro
    Asus 52X Cd Burner
    Asus 8x DVD Burner
    Iomega 100 MB zip drive
    mitsumi floppy drive
    Thermaltake volcano 12 heatsink and fan
    Promise Technologies Ultra ATA Controller card
    Cooler Master Case (4 fans - 2 of which are vantec tornados tuned down)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/246879

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice