1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Virtual Memory

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by liquid_flame, Jan 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. liquid_flame

    liquid_flame Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    I often get a pop-up in the bottom-right "virtual memory low", why is this? and what should i do?
     
  2. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
  3. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    Use "Help and Support" in the "Start" menu. In the Search field insert "virtual memory low." Also, use simply "virtual memory".
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,773
    First Name:
    Frank
    How much RAM is in that computer?

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. fidodido

    fidodido

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    146
  6. liquid_flame

    liquid_flame Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    500+...? i dont know.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,773
    First Name:
    Frank
    The RAM amount is fine. Your computer probably has too many running processes.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Jag11

    Jag11

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    Yep, that can be related to your RAM.

    You said you don't know if 500+ is right, so to be sure, please right-click on the My Computer icon on your Desktop, then select Properties. You'll find your amount of RAM there, at the lower left corner of the window.
     
  9. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    "jag11": Following your instructions brings up NO info re my computer on the resulting 'form'. Perhaps the same will occur for"l_f". How about using Belarc Adviser?
    {redoak}
     
  10. Jag11

    Jag11

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    It works perfectly on me, just wait and the words will come out. (reduced the colors coz it's quite big)
     
  11. redoak

    redoak Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,782
    "jag11": Instead of "System Properties," I show "My Computer Properties." I wonder why the difference? {redoak}
     
  12. Jag11

    Jag11

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    What do you mean "My Computer Properties"?

    Is it what I said 'right-click My Computer, then select Properties' and that's not My Computer Properties.
     
  13. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Jag, you might want to edit the post with that screenshot to remove your Windows registration key #.
     
  14. Jag11

    Jag11

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
  15. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/433293

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice