Virtual memory

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

patti9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
299
My pc is slow to load pages sometimes and I've been advised to increase the virtual memory. I have checked to see what memory I have and It says 448MB RAM. I wonder of someone could please help me with this? I have no idea what to do on this one. many thanks.. :)
 

patti9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
299
No I'm not getting any virtual memory messages.. My specs are Windows XP Home edition, 1 gb HD. AMD Athlon 64 processor. 448 RAM.. Its only when I'm using Myspace, the pages can takes ages to load sometimes. Do you think extending the VM will help?
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
37
virtual memory refers to the pagefile allocated by windows within your hard disk, not your ram.

first make sure you have enough free space in the partition you want to allocate virtual memory.
right click on "my computer". go to Properties > Advanced tab > Settings under "performance" > Advanced tab> Change under " virtual memory"

select the partition you want to increase/decrease Virtual memory from. check custom size, enter your desired value then click "set" . restart your computer.

PS: i would recommand letting windows manage you virtual memory for you tho.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
611
Its only when I'm using Myspace, the pages can takes ages to load sometimes
That could be due to the amount of ram you have installed, not virtual memory. I'm confused by your specs tho'..

Right-click My Computer>Properties>General tab where it gives you information about the size of the hard drive and what operating system you use to find the amount of RAM

Also, do you get the same results using another browser?
 

patti9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
299
I'm not too sure what I'm doing here, when you say I should make sure I have enough free space in the partition.. what exactly am I looking for here? I probably need a step by step explanation please, sorry about this...
 

patti9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
299
This is what it says:-
MS XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Ser vice Pack 2

Compaq Presario
AMD Athlon 64 processor 3500+

220 GHz 448 RAM I'm using IE 6 and all seems fine with this browser. It just seems to be Myspace that's causing the problems.. I'm assuming its because of all the traffic and resources? Thanks for all your help and advice so far.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
37
ok, you have prolly reported your spec wrong cos a 1 gb hdd is effectively obsolete.

click start and go to "run" . in the field that appears, type "dxdiag" without the quotes. under "system Information". see the line that says "pagefile :" just under "memory". what are the amounts there, pagefile and memory.

on a side note,the slow loading of your webpages is prolly due to you internet connection, or the server. i don't think decreasing or increasing your virtual memory will do you any good.try using diff browsers.
 

patti9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
299
Yes sorry (made a mistake with 1BG) I think its more like 40.. Under Page file is says:- 512 used 540MB available. I checked with my ISP 'Orange' and they say its 8MB (in the icon tray it says 100mbps.. I dont know if this is relevant? thank you very much for your help.. :)
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2008
Messages
37
hi patti9, i see that you have more then 1gb a pagefile allocated. for surfing that is more then sufficient. and your internet speed is 8mbps which is fast enough to load myspace under a second.

if the page loading problem only occur when you're visiting myspace. its prolly the servers so there's nothing much you can do except wait and see if its ok again in a couple of hours or so.

if its slow for every other site, visit http://www.speedtest.net/ and check whether you are given the speed promised to you by your isp.

PS: the 100mbps in the icon tray is pretty much irrelevant :)
 

patti9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
299
Thank you so much for your kind help - much appreciated. I agree with you about Myspace - and it only happens sometimes...other sites load very quickly usually. Could you please explain why you think the 100 mbsp is irrelevant, I'm asking out of curiosity and would like to learn more about these things. Kind Regards. Patti
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
1,428
Hopefully you are spyware free... do you know how to protect yourself from spyware/virus's?
 

patti9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
299
Hi there. Yes I am totally spyware free.. I have a lot of security and run checks frequently. Regards, Patti
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
1,357
Hi,

The 100Mbs icon is propably indicating the LAN (local area network) speed. This translates to the speed between your computer and your modem/router, not the speed between your modem/router and the ISP servers. :)
 

patti9

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
299
Oh, I see, thanks for explaining that to me.... :) Have a good weekend..
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top