1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Virus problem on Laptop Windows ME

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by fantasyland, Aug 31, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fantasyland

    fantasyland Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Hi,
    Can somebody please help me but you need to explain it in very basic terms as I am not very patient with computers...???

    My problem is that I have a virus and when I go to move it to the virus vault, I get the following message,

    FileC:\_RESTORE\TEMP\A411502CPY can not be removed.

    I am using the AVG virus system and it is updated to the current one.

    I would really appreciate some help on this.
     
  2. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    I'm not at all sure what you have, but try this. Go to http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ and download Hijack This. Un Zip it and click on the Hijachthis.exe.

    Click the "Scan" button when the scan is finished the scan button will become "Save Log" click that and save the log.

    Go to where you saved the log and click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" then Paste the log back here in a reply.

    Do NOT have Hijack This fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless. Someone here will be glad to advise you on what to fix.

    The log may very well reveal the source of the problem.
     
  3. fantasyland

    fantasyland Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.4
    Scan saved at 7:59:29 AM, on 9/1/2003
    Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MEMORYMETER\MEMORYMETER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TVTMD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.2.8.0\HBINST.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WEBSHOTS\WEBSHOTSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SCANBUTTON 3.0\SCANBUTTON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.2.8.0\HBSRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ICQ\ICQ.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\CONTENT.IE5\0FG94TCX\HIJACKTHIS[1]\HIJACKTHIS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\WUAUBOOT.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.webshots.com/r/internal/start/client/RAND
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {4A2AACF3-ADF6-11D5-98A9-00E018981B9E} - C:\Program Files\NewDotNet\newdotnet4_50.dll
    O2 - BHO: Hotbar - {B195B3B3-8A05-11D3-97A4-0004ACA6948E} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.2.8.0\HBHOSTIE.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Hotbar - {B195B3B3-8A05-11D3-97A4-0004ACA6948E} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.2.8.0\HBHOSTIE.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WindowsMGM] C:\WINDOWS\TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\CONTENT.IE5\YNUP43YT\SAMPLE.PIF
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Mirabilis ICQ] C:\Program Files\ICQ\ICQNet.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MemoryMeter] C:\PROGRAM FILES\MEMORYMETER\MEMORYMETER.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TVTMD] C:\WINDOWS\TVTMD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hotbar] C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.2.8.0\HBINST.EXE /Upgrade
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [WindowsMGM] C:\WINDOWS\TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\CONTENT.IE5\YNUP43YT\SAMPLE.PIF
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\RunServices: [WindowsMGM] C:\WINDOWS\TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\CONTENT.IE5\YNUP43YT\SAMPLE.PIF
    O4 - HKCU\..\RunServices: [msnmsgr] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\RunOnce: [ICQ] C:\PROGRAM FILES\ICQ\ICQ.EXE -trayboot
    O4 - Startup: Webshots.lnk = C:\Program Files\Webshots\WebshotsTray.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: ICQ Pro (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ (HKLM)
    O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
    O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
    O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
    O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
    O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {69FD62B1-0216-4C31-8D55-840ED86B7C8F} (HbInstObj Class) - http://installs.hotbar.com/installs/hotbar/programs/hotbar.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DF6A0F17-0B1E-11D4-829D-00C04F6843FE} (Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control) - http://dgl.microsoft.com/downloads/outc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37796.0622453704
    O16 - DPF: {AFDBB6D0-6B96-419C-8BC6-FF0B99368C0B} - http://www.memorymeter.com/MemoryMeter.cab

    Please can somebody help me fix this problem????
     
  4. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
    fantasyland

    First you need to go to Add/Remove programs and uninstall New.Net

    Run Hijack This again and put a check by these. Close all browser windows and "Fix checked"

    O2 - BHO: Hotbar - {B195B3B3-8A05-11D3-97A4-0004ACA6948E} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.2.8.0\HBHOSTIE.DLL

    O3 - Toolbar: &Hotbar - {B195B3B3-8A05-11D3-97A4-0004ACA6948E} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.2.8.0\HBHOSTIE.DLL

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WindowsMGM] C:\WINDOWS\TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\CONTENT.IE5\YNUP43YT\SAMPLE.PIF

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MemoryMeter] C:\PROGRAM FILES\MEMORYMETER\MEMORYMETER.EXE

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TVTMD] C:\WINDOWS\TVTMD.EXE

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hotbar] C:\PROGRAM FILES\HOTBAR\BIN\4.2.8.0\HBINST.EXE /Upgrade

    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [WindowsMGM] C:\WINDOWS\TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\CONTENT.IE5\YNUP43YT\SAMPLE.PIF

    O4 - HKCU\..\RunServices: [WindowsMGM] C:\WINDOWS\TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\CONTENT.IE5\YNUP43YT\SAMPLE.PIF

    O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
    O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
    O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
    O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net
    O10 - Hijacked Internet access by New.Net

    O16 - DPF: {69FD62B1-0216-4C31-8D55-840ED86B7C8F} (HbInstObj Class) - http://installs.hotbar.com/installs...rams/hotbar.cab

    Restart your computer in safe mode and delete:
    The C:\PROGRAM FILES\MEMORYMETER folder
    The C:\WINDOWS\TVTMD.EXE file
    The C:\WINDOWS\TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES\CONTENT.IE5 folder

    Go here http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/ and download Adaware 6

    Install the program and launch it.

    I strongly recommend that you read the help file to familiarize yourself with the program.

    Before running the scan look at the top of the main window and you will see a Gear Icon. This is where you configure the settings. Click on that and then in the next window that pops up click on the "Scanning" tab on the left side. Under "Drives and Folders" put a check by "Scan within archives" and below that under "Memory and Registry" put a check by all the options there.
    The click on the "Tweak" tab and under "Scanning engine" put a check by "Unload recognized processes during scanning" ...........then......under "Cleaning engine" put a ckeck by "Automatically try to unregister objects prior to deletion" and "Let windows remove files in use at next reboot" then click "Proceed"

    Next in the main window look in the bottom right corner and click on "Check for updates now" and get the latest referencefiles.
    After getting the latest referencefiles you are ready to scan.

    Click "Start" and in the next window make sure "Active in depth scanning" is checked then click "Next" and the scan will begin.

    When it is finished let it fix everything it finds.

    Restart your computer.

    Then go here http://spybot.eon.net.au/index.php?lang=en&page=download and download Spybot.

    Install the program and launch it.

    Before scanning press "Online" and "Search for Updates" .

    Put a check mark at and install all updates.

    Click "Check for Problems" and when the scan is finished let Spybot fix/remove all it finds.

    Restart your computer.

    Be sure and take advantage of the "Immunize" feature in Spybot.

    Finally go here http://www.net-integration.net/cgi-bin/forum/ikonboard.cgi?;act=ST;f=38;t=3051 for info on how this happens and how to prevent future attacks.
    On this page you will find a link to Javacool's SpywareBlaster. Get it and check for updates frequently.
    The Immunize feature in Spybot used in conjunction with SpywareBlaster and weekly scans with Spybot and Adaware will go a long way toward keeping you spyware free.
     
  5. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
    Oh yeah as to the original problem you mentioned about the virus in FileC:\_RESTORE\TEMP\A411502CPY

    This is in System Restore. If you turn off system restore and restart your computer it should take care of that.

    Do a virus scan with system restore off after restarting. It should come up clean. Then you can turn system restore back on and create a restore point.

    If you don't know how to turn off system restore see here:

    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2001012513122239
     
  6. fantasyland

    fantasyland Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    thanks heap for that, i will work my way through your instructions and see how i go.......
    thankyou
     
  7. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/160954

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice