Virus Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

timdays

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
86
Had a virus on my system and after a couple of hours work, an engineer managed to clean it. However, since it happened last Wednesday, the problems I am left with are that if I try to download updates from MS I just get a blank page with http:/// in the address bar, this also applies when I try ro access other reputable sites.
This was also a feature when I had the virus and I tried to update my antivirus.
Also, cannot send mail using Outlook Express.
Anyone any suggestions please?
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2004
Messages
248
hi timdays

Please do this. Click here: http://www.sherrylynn.us/HijackThis.exe to download Hijack This. Save it to it’s own folder (not temporary files or the desktop).
Close all open windows and open HIJACK THIS. Click “Scan”. When the scan is finished (it only takes a second), the scan button will change to “Save Log”. Click on “Save Log” and save it to NotePad. Copy the entire log and paste it here.

DO NOT FIX ANYTHING YET, most items that appear in the log are harmless or even needed. Wait for someone to analyze the scan and advise
 

timdays

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
86
Thanks for the response, but this is the problem.
When I click on the location you suggets, I get a blank page an http:/// in the address bar
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2004
Messages
248
Please try this link . Click here:

http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/downloads.html

to download Hijack This. Save it to it’s own folder (not temporary files or the desktop).
Close all open windows and open HIJACK THIS. Click “Scan”. When the scan is finished (it only takes a second), the scan button will change to “Save Log”. Click on “Save Log” and save it to NotePad. Copy the entire log and paste it here.

DO NOT FIX ANYTHING YET, most items that appear in the log are harmless or even needed. Wait for someone to analyze the scan and advise
 

timdays

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
86
That worked, I sacnned and saved the log file, but it is just a clean page it is saving, without the results shown on the scan window
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2004
Messages
248
run hjt put a check mark next to these close all browsers and hit fix

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = file:///C:/webshare/wwwroot/MONITOR/index.htm
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = C:\WINDOWS\secure.html
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = C:\WINDOWS\secure.html
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = C:\WINDOWS\secure.html
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = C:\WINDOWS\secure.html
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = C:\WINDOWS\secure.html

please post another log
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
687
Hola
A few days ago, I had a problem downloading anything from the web, I notice that I cannot access my yahoo e-mail or connect to my DSL SBC home page. I call the SBC, and they help me with this problem. I'm not sure if this may help you, but what I did was to uninstalled everything that had to do with yahoo or SBC, then download everything again. It works for me, so maybe if you uninstalled everything from MSN, then go and download everything again, may work. For outlook, you should be able to fix it by using your Windows CD and repair.
I hope that this can help you.
Uly7
 

timdays

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
86
Thanks
Firstly I will await a response from Lobos as I am following his thread.
If not successful, will try.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2004
Messages
248
lets try this

Run an online antivirus check from at least one and preferably 2 of the following sites....

http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/



then

Download AdAware 6 181 from here: http://www.lavasoftusa.com/
Before you scan with AdAware, check for updates of the reference file by using the "webupdate".
Then ........

Make sure the following settings are made and on -------"ON=GREEN"
From main window :Click "Start" then " Activate in-depth scan"

Then......

Click "Use custom scanning options>Customize" and have these options on: "Scan within archives" ,"Scan active processes","Scan registry", "Deep scan registry" ,"Scan my IE Favorites for banned URL" and "Scan my host-files"

Then.........

Go to settings(the gear on top of AdAware)>Tweak>Scanning engine and tick "Unload recognized processes during scanning" and "Let windows remove files in use at next reboot"

Then...... click "proceed" to save your settings.

Now to scan it´s just to click the "Scan" button.

When scan is finished mark everything for removal and get rid of it.(Right-click the window and choose"select all" from the drop down menu)



Then
Download Spybot - Search & Destroy from http://security.kolla.de

After installing, first press Online, and search for, put a check mark at, and install all updates.
Next, close all Internet Explorer and OE windows, hit 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds that is marked in RED
 

timdays

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 13, 2004
Messages
86
Many thanks for your help.
The AdAware has done the job, although I cannot use Outlook Express, I will use Outlook
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top