Virus Scanning

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joswoody

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
102
HI,

I have a virtualized environment and have around 80 VMs. They are all stored in a SAN. Do I have to install Symantec EndPoint protection on all virtual machines or can I install them on the Hyper V Host and have a scan on the san. Is it possible to scan a .vhd file and it scans the viruses in the machine?

Thanks.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
That is somewhat specialised and you are better off contacting Symantec support on that one .

Part of the set up will depend on the licencing and how many computers or VMs that you are actually licenced to use, and that is way beyond us to advise on this forum.
 

joswoody

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
102
Ok, but is a virus scanner able to scan a vhd file and detecting a virus?

Thanks.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
depends on the scanner, some can & some can't, but as I understand it, they can't scan individual files within the vhd, only the vhd itself. However, you are much better off asking your support team at Symantec about that as they are the experts and it all depends how the AV is configured.

As I understand it, the "normal" way is to install the Antivirus on the host only, but I am not an expert on corporate/server antivirus, so could be wrong on this.

Once again the only people who can legitimately answer this query are Symantec support. You pay quite a high proportion of your licencing fee for support and should have a dedicated support point, with that number of seats paid for.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
1
Hi,

I'm a Product Manager for Symantec Endpoint Protection, I'd be happy to help you with your query!

At the moment, you would need to install SEP on all your Hyper-V guest machines. Microsoft don't currently have a solution like VMware vShield Endpoint, so in order to protect each guest, you need to install protection software onto each system.

You *could* mount offline VHD's in Windows and then scan the resulting drives with SEP, but this wouldn't be realtime protection, which I think is what you are after?

Hope that helps, let me know if I can clarify anything further.

Paul Murgatroyd
Principal Product Manager, Symantec Endpoint Protection
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
5
Hello,

I agree with Paul. You would need to install SEP on all your Hyper-V guest machines.

What version of SEP are you running?

Here are the Best practices for virtualization with SEP -

Best practices for virtualization with Symantec Endpoint Protection 12.1, 12.1 RU1, and 12.1 RU1 MP1

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH173650

Best practices for virtualization with Symantec Endpoint Protection 12.1.2.

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH197344

Symantec Endpoint Protection 12.1 & Virtualization

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH194383

Hope that helps!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top