Solved Virus threat tried to lock up my computer

violetz56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
63
I was just trying to open a page I have been to many times when a box saying flash update popped up, I could not use my mouse and suddenly it tried to lock up my computer. I think i saw the name windows updater. I ran avg and malwares but they didn't find anything and something said windows update so it is still inside my computer somewhere. i do not know if i just put in a wrong address. Please help me. I try to be so careful now. it has been years since i had any problems thanks to ideas on got on this website many years ago.


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Build 19041, Installed 20200917022219.000000-420
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4170 CPU @ 3.70GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3, CPU Count: 4
Total Physical RAM: 6 GB
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4400, 1024 MB
Hard Drives: C: 918 GB (772 GB Free); D: 11 GB (1 GB Free);
Motherboard: HP 2B2C, ver 1.01, s/n PENGE0H0Z404QJ
System: AMI, ver HPQOEM - 1072009, s/n MXX64314JN
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
 

kevinf80

Kevin
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
11,467
Hello violetz56 and welcome to TSG,

Continue with the following:

If you do not have Malwarebytes installed do the following:

Download Malwarebytes version 4 from the following link:

https://www.malwarebytes.com/mwb-download/thankyou/

Double click on the installer and follow the prompts.

When the install completes or Malwarebytes is already installed do the following:

Open Malwarebytes, select > "settings" > "protection tab"

Scroll down to "Scan Options" ensure Scan for Rootkits and Scan within Archives are both on....

Go back to "DashBoard" select the Blue "Scan Now" tab......

When the scan completes quarantine any found entries...

To get the log from Malwarebytes do the following:

  • Click on the Detection History tab > from main interface.
  • Then click on "History" that will open to a historical list
  • Double click on the Scan log which shows the Date and time of the scan just performed.
  • Click Export > From export you have two options:

    Copy to Clipboard - if seleted right click to your reply and select "Paste" log will be pasted to your reply
    Text file (*.txt) - if selected you will have to name the file and save to a place of choice, recommend "Desktop" then attach to reply

  • Please use "Copy to Clipboard, then Right click to your reply > select "Paste" that will copy the log to your reply…

Next,

Download AdwCleaner by Malwarebytes onto your Desktop.

Or from this Mirror

  • Right-click on AdwCleaner.exe and select
    Run as Administrator (for Windows Vista, 7, 8, 8.1 and 10 users)
  • Accept the EULA (I accept), then click on Scan
  • Let the scan complete. Once it's done, make sure that every item listed in the different tabs is checked and click on the Quarantine button. This will kill all the active processes
  • Once the cleaning process is complete, AdwCleaner will ask to restart your computer, do it
  • After the restart, a log will open when logging in. Please copy/paste the content of that log in your next reply

Next,

Download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your desktop.

Alternative download option: http://www.techspot.com/downloads/6731-farbar-recovery-scan-tool.html

Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system (32 bit or 64 bit). If you are not sure which version applies to your system download both of them and try to run them. Only one of them will run on your system, that will be the right version.

If your security alerts to FRST either, accept the alert or turn your security off to allow FRST to run. It is not malicious or infected in any way...

Be aware FRST must be run from an account with Administrator status...

  • Double-click to run it. When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
    (Windows 8/10 users will be prompted about Windows SmartScreen protection - click More information and Run.)
  • Make sure Addition.txt is checkmarked under "Optional scans"


  • Press Scan button to run the tool....
  • It will make a log (FRST.txt) in the same directory the tool is run. Please copy and paste it to your reply.
  • The tool will also make a log named (Addition.txt) Please attach that log to your reply.

Let me see those logs in your reply...

Thank you,

Kevin....
 

violetz56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
63
hello, i tried, i had malwares so i tried to delete and redownload in case the one you told me about is a bit newer version. it would not uninstall. then i tried to run their repair software from their site. my computer was stuck, it would not work, my computer could not restart because hte software kept trying and then it wazs a cycle of not rebooting up all the way so i could cancel the malwares, i found a way to do system restore to the 19th, it finally restarted. its on now but the malwares is not even showing in programs and my avg won;t start up. what do you think?
 

kevinf80

Kevin
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
11,467
Run FRST as per my last reply, ignore the other instructions...
 

violetz56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
63
it wouldn't let me copy and paste. i pasted the FRSt one but once I tried to copy and paste the adition it was as if my mouse froze
 

Attachments

violetz56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
63
i downloaded the malwares you said, i was able to find and delete the one on here. i couldn't find the protection and rootkit on the one, it says it is a 14 day trial. i did it before i saw your reply
 

kevinf80

Kevin
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
11,467
Fass Post Preview
Hiya violetz56,

Thanks for those logs, continue:

Please download the attached fixlist.txt file and save it to the Desktop or location where you ran FRST from.

NOTE. It's important that both files, FRST or FRST64, and fixlist.txt are in the same location or the fix will not work.

NOTICE: This script was written specifically for this user, for use on this particular machine. Running this on another machine may cause damage to your operating system that cannot be undone.

Run FRST or FRST64 and press the Fix button just once and wait.
If the tool needs a restart please make sure you let the system restart normally and let the tool complete its run after restart.
The tool will make a log on the Desktop (Fixlog.txt) or wherever you ran FRST from. Please attach or post it to your next reply.

Note: If the tool warned you about an outdated version please download and run the updated version.

NOTE-1: This fix will run a scan to check that all Microsoft operating system files are valid and not corrupt and attempt to correct any invalid files. It will also run a disk check on the restart to ensure disk integrity. Depending on the speed of your computer this fix may take 30 minutes or more.

NOTE-2: As part of this fix all temporary files will be removed. If you have any open web pages that have not been bookmarked please make sure you bookmark them now as all open applications will be automatically closed. Also, make sure you know the passwords for all websites as cookies will also be removed.

The following directories are emptied:

  • Windows Temp
  • Users Temp folders
  • Edge, IE, FF, Chrome and Opera caches, HTML5 storages, Cookies and History
  • Recently opened files cache
  • Flash Player cache
  • Java cache
  • Steam HTML cache
  • Explorer thumbnail and icon cache
  • BITS transfer queue (qmgr*.dat files)
  • Recycle Bin

Important: items are permanently deleted. They are not moved to quarantine. If you have any questions or concerns please ask before running this fix.

user posted image


The system will be rebooted after the fix has run.

Next,

Open Malwarebytes, select > "settings" > "protection tab"

Scroll down to "Scan Options" ensure Scan for Rootkits and Scan within Archives are both on....

Go back to "DashBoard" select the Blue "Scan Now" tab......

When the scan completes quarantine any found entries...

To get the log from Malwarebytes do the following:

  • Click on the Detection History tab > from main interface.
  • Then click on "History" that will open to a historical list
  • Double click on the Scan log which shows the Date and time of the scan just performed.
  • Click Export > From export you have two options:
    Copy to Clipboard - if seleted right click to your reply and select "Paste" log will be pasted to your reply
    Text file (*.txt) - if selected you will have to name the file and save to a place of choice, recommend "Desktop" then attach to reply


  • Please use "Copy to Clipboard, then Right click to your reply > select "Paste" that will copy the log to your reply…

Next,

Download AdwCleaner by Malwarebytes onto your Desktop.

Or from this Mirror

  • Right-click on AdwCleaner.exe and select
    user posted image
    Run as Administrator (for Windows Vista, 7, 8, 8.1 and 10 users)
  • Accept the EULA (I accept), then click on Scan
  • Let the scan complete. Once it's done, make sure that every item listed in the different tabs is checked and click on the Quarantine button. This will kill all the active processes
  • Once the cleaning process is complete, AdwCleaner will ask to restart your computer, do it
  • After the restart, a log will open when logging in. Please copy/paste the content of that log in your next reply

Next,

Download "Microsoft's Safety Scanner" and save direct to the desktop

Ensure to get the correct version for your system....

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/wi...otection/intelligence/safety-scanner-download


Right click on the Tool, select Run as Administrator the tool will expand to the options Window
In the "Scan Type" window, select Quick Scan
Perform a scan and Click Finish when the scan is done.


Retrieve the MSRT log as follows, and post it in your next reply:

1) Select the Windows key and R key together to open the "Run" function
2) Type or Copy/Paste the following command to the "Run Line" and Press Enter:

notepad c:\windows\debug\msert.log

The log will include log details for each time MSRT has run, we only need the most recent log by date and time....

Let me see those logs in your reply...

Thank you,

Kevin..
 

Attachments

violetz56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
63
I have tried over and over but i cannot get the fixlist in the same folder. how do i do that? it doesnt give me a download option of the desktop, it goes right into documents. please explain how to download the fixlist, thank you
 

kevinf80

Kevin
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
11,467
You have downloaded and saved FRST to your "Downloads" folder, that is where you must save the fixlist file....

Running from C:\Users\HPUser\Downloads
fix1.JPGfix2.JPG
 
Last edited:

violetz56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
63
i redownloaded it, i drug it to desktop as it does not offer me options where to download, i ran it again and it cannot find the fixlist, i tried repeatedly, many times over,
 

kevinf80

Kevin
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
11,467
The fixlist and FRST must be in the same place, why do you move the fixlist to the Desktop, the scan log shows that FRST is running from your downloads folder...
 

violetz56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
63
i tried to run the fixlist from both locations, i tried from downloads first. about 4 times, it didn't give me download options of administrator or to desktop, i just felt desperate and then tried to get the fixlist to work again, this time i dragged the FRST to desktop to run it to see if the fixlist would work but it still wouldn't run, i just cannot figure out why it won;t run
 

violetz56

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2006
Messages
63
i tried FRST32 in case that was why and it said immediately to use FRST64, i do not know how to get fixlist to run
 

kevinf80

Kevin
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
11,467
FRST and fixlist need to be together either on your Desktop, or in the downloads folder. When they are together right click on FRST and then select "Run as Administrator" to run the tool, when FRST opens select "Fix" tab with on single left click...
 

Attachments

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top