1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Virus wiped out hard drive-can i recover

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by calvn, Aug 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. calvn

    calvn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Hi Guys, (new member)

    A couple of months ago a virus came and wiped ou my HD, got the blue screen and said couldn't find the drive. So I couldn't re-install XP, could not do anything. Dell came and exchanged the HD.
    Now I still have the old one with a LOT of documents on it that I lost. I can't afford to go to have it retrieved with some techie so I'm wondering:
    Any ways I can do a virus sweep from DOS? And try to recover my HD? Even if I lose all the data can I recover my HD to use it as a 2nd drive?
    thank you,
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi and welcome. Hook it up as a slave drive to your current drive. I would guess though, that if they replaced it, they would have tested it, and it may be a throw away item.
     
  3. calvn

    calvn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks for the response. I only got Dell tech support (live from India) so I don't think they tested it and the guy who installed the new drive simply forgot about it. If it's a slave drive can the virus be transmitted to my new one? afraid of that. And do you have a thread on how to do the slave drive thing?
    thank you again
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    http://wiki.ehow.com/Hook-up-a-Second-Hard-Drive

    If you open an infected file from the slave drive, then yes, you could infect your other drive. I'd be sure you have a current updated and running virus program installed prior to clicking on any files ;)
     
  5. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    did you install somebody's av on the new hd for a little protection?
     
  6. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    did you install somebody's av on the new hd for a little protection? :cool:
     
  7. calvn

    calvn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    On the new one I have Norton 2005, spysweeper, counterspy, nod32, adware, spybot. I think that's enough..... and zonealarm firewall
     
  8. calvn

    calvn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Now the problem is that on the old one I still had Norton 2004, spybot and adaware and Zonealarm too, and this thing cut thru them like butter
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/394066