1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista 64 no Wireless

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Thunder2821, Jan 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Thunder2821

    Thunder2821 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Hey there,
    This is my first post so I might be a little shaky, so I apologize in advance.

    Today I was working on homework, closed my laptop (but was still running), and took a phone call, opened laptop back up and firefox said "server not found/etc" and my wireless icon down by my clock had the red X through it.

    I tried diagnosing the problem and did not work, so right now I'm sitting right by my cable and router in the living room with an ethernet cord plugged in, which gives me internet access.

    I have a Toshiba P305D-S8900 laptop running Windows Vista 64 bit. My network adapter (wireless) is Atheros AR9281 Wireless Network Adapter. My router is a Belkin N600 DB Wireless N+ Router.

    The router's sticker on the bottom gives the following:
    Network Name (SSID): belkin.3a0
    Password: ********
    PIN code: ********
    Security Type: WPA/WPA2

    I've searched other threads, forums, sites, to no avail. I checked under device manager and clicked update driver software for the Atheros, and was told the driver is up to date.

    I am out of ideas and pretty frustrated with this haha.

    Please advise!! Your help is greatly appreciated!

    Thank you,

    Cody
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what happens when you try an connect to the wireless


    Check the wireless is switched ON
    theres often a physical switch or a combination of the FN and one of the F keys to toggle the wireless on/off - is the wireless on?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    lets see the following please

    ipconfig /all
    xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    then type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. Thunder2821

    Thunder2821 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Yep, checked the switch and the FN keys right away. Those were fine.


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Cody-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9281 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-10-BA-49
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8d86:1dd4:753b:c3af%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 28, 2013 5:14:19 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, March 09, 2149 6:44:45 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301999147
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-D3-99-2D-00-1E-68-B3-C8-2F
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040T PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-B3-C8-2F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{30BF74D6-8AB5-400D-B9DB-3D7994623D47}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:4ea:231f:3f57:fdf3(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4ea:231f:3f57:fdf3%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     

    Attached Files:

  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,955
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site, use channel 11 and show another ipconfig /all after doing the following repairs.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. Thunder2821

    Thunder2821 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Yup checked the wireless driver and it said I had the best one. What is channel 11? I'll try the resets you said and post em
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,955
    First Name:
    Terry
    What or who is "it"?

    The commonly used designation of the Wi-Fi frequency that you should be using since there are strong networks using channels 1 and 6.
     
  7. Thunder2821

    Thunder2821 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    I went under Device manager and clicked update device drivers for the Atheros, my computer checked online (I'll explain that) and a box came up that said the drivers were up-to-date.

    As for it getting online: I currently have internet access somehow. It seems that whenever I shut off my computer and turn it back on, I get internet access. I found this out when I tried deleting my wireless configuration for the belkin at my house, and re-configuring it. It went fine until I tried connecting to the internet and I ended up with the icon down by my clock just saying "Identifying..." and then a bit later the status was "Unidentified Network" and I couldn't browse the web.
     
  8. Thunder2821

    Thunder2821 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    And ok, how do I go about changing to channel 11? Xirrus says the Belkin network is on channel 6
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,955
    First Name:
    Terry
    Login to the router, navigate to the wireless section and change the Channel. Consult the user guide for more specifics.
     
  10. Thunder2821

    Thunder2821 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Downloaded latest driver version from Toshiba support.

    Changed router channel to 11.

    I'm going up to the library to meet with my group for a presentation we have on Thursday, will try connecting to the campus wi-fi again up there. Was unable to last time. Brought computer to the Information Services desk where they help with connections and they were unable to figure it out, thought it was an issue with the wireless card.

    I still can connect at my house with our network, but whenever I go up to campus I can't connect still.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,955
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you cannot connect on campus grab an Xirrus screen shot.
     
  12. Thunder2821

    Thunder2821 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Here's screenshots of Xirrus on campus, our school network is "UWMWiFi". The SSID "Public" is also an option on campus, open to the public. Times you out after 1 hour though. Couldn't connect to that one either.

    I clicked Connection Test on Xirrus and uploaded that screenshot also, if it helps at all.

    Also ran the "Diagnose and Repair" when I right click on the two computers icon down by the clock. Screenshot is uploaded.

    After clicking "Automatically get new IP settings..." I got the box in the attachment "diagnose and repair result"

    I don't know if any of these extra screenshots help or not, but figured I'd try.

    Thanks for your help so far on this! I'll stay tuned.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,955
    First Name:
    Terry
    This is probably not the case, but it looks like a static IP was assigned, but no Default Gateway or DNS server.
     
  14. Thunder2821

    Thunder2821 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Hmm alright. What would be the next step?
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,955
    First Name:
    Terry
    I was kinda expecting that you would deny that assertion or fix it (preferably by switching back to dynamic). :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1087282

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice