Vista and XP not being friendly to eachother

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jaybeeb

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
51
Hi All,
Having issues networking my new Vista Laptop to my XP Desktop. I have done the following:
  • Changed my Workgroup to match both machines
  • Network type: Private
  • Network Discovery: ON
  • File Sharing: ON
  • Public Folder Sharing: ON
  • Printer Sharing:ON
  • Media Sharing:ON

I have also tried turning off both Windows Firewall and my ZoneAlarm to test it.

My Laptop runs on wireless and my Desktop is wired.

I can ping both machines from each, using addresses and names.

I have never had problems Networking XP machines together before, just cant figure this out.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
You've told us about things that work, and the settings you listed look OK, but you forgot to mention anything about your issues. You appear to have them networked fine.
 

jaybeeb

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
51
Basically just cant see either machine in the 'network' or 'my network places' sections. have been working my way through the link from John, but still no luck
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
Even though you can ping fine it could still be a 3rd party firewall (internet security) on the Vista or on both. We may spot a clue if you post the following for both PCs.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following commands:

nbtstat -n

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

jaybeeb

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
51
Even though you can ping fine it could still be a 3rd party firewall (internet security) on the Vista or on both. We may spot a clue if you post the following for both PCs.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following commands:

nbtstat -n

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
FROM MY LAPTOP (VISTA)
C:\Users\Jack>nbtstat -n

Bluetooth Network Connection:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

Wireless Network Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.104] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
-------------------------------------------
JACK-PC <00> UNIQUE Registered
MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
JACK-PC <20> UNIQUE Registered



C:\Users\Jack>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jack-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-38-5F-6B
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-4C-DF-B8-C5
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-BF-AA-2E-09
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.104(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 01 April 2008 13:07:23
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 April 2008 13:07:23
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
FROM MY DESKTOP (XP PRO)
C:\Documents and Settings\Jack>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.20] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
HOMEPC <00> UNIQUE Registered
HOMEPC <20> UNIQUE Registered
MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered
MSHOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered


C:\Documents and Settings\Jack>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HOMEPC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-07-E9-26-7F-42
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.20
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 01 April 2008 13:08:00
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 April 2008 13:08:00
Thanks for taking the time to check it out!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Have you shared at least one resource on each machine? When you double-click Network Places, can you see your local machine? If so, and you open it, do you see the shared resources?

Are these machines running XP-Home or XP-Pro?
 

jaybeeb

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
51
Have you shared at least one resource on each machine? When you double-click Network Places, can you see your local machine? If so, and you open it, do you see the shared resources?

Are these machines running XP-Home or XP-Pro?
I have shared "My Documents" on my Desktop (XP PRO) and "Documents" on my Laptop (Vista Home Premium) I can see my local machine in VISTA on my laptop and I can see my shared resources when I open it.
But cant see my local machine on my desktop XP at all.

Thanks
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
OK, so the desktop appears to be the issue here.

Check your Services are Started on the XP box:
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).
 

jaybeeb

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
51
OK, so the desktop appears to be the issue here.

Check your Services are Started on the XP box:
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Workstation

Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).
They are all fine, just so you know, I just got this laptop before I had a Inspiron 6400 with XP Home and had it networked to my desktop with no problems, Just wish Vista had a wizard like XP as there were no problems before

Thanks
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
"But cant see my local machine on my desktop XP at all."

Probably firewall or one of those services John listed. Could be a piece of a firewall that you thought you successfully uninstalled ages ago.
 

jaybeeb

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
51
My Desktop is very recently formatted and my laptop is brand new, and just formatted it to clean off the freeware. I really dont think it could be a firewall issue.

edit:this network was working perfectly up until I got this Vista machine.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
"But cant see my local machine on my desktop XP at all."

This can have nothing to do with Vista unless the Vista machine installed a firewall on the XP. :)

Maybe I have been making too many assumptions about what "see" means. I took it to mean that when you hit 'view workgroup computers' in My Network Places that your XP did not appear. What do you mean by "see"?
 

jaybeeb

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
51
Yep thats what I meant, thanks for the help, will have to look into the firewall side of things.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top