1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

vista backup & restore

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by seileen, Aug 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. seileen

    seileen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    My operating system is vista. My hard drive - C- has 150gb free but the recovery drive - D- has 10mb free. What do I do? I want to change how often it saves and i need some space!
    For the life of me I can't figure it out.
    Thanks
    Seileen
     
  2. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    On branded OEM systems like Compaq, HP, etc you are not supposed to do anything with the Recovery partition. (Except create the Recovery media if your system did not come with any disks....lots of people forget to do this!)

    The Recovery Drive is NOT the same as what you are thinking....

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/2007.09.backup.aspx


    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/using-windows-vista-system-restore/


    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Recovery_disc

    http://www.vistax64.com/general-discussion/190947-oem-recovery-disk-partition.html

    If you post the exact make and model of the computer you have, we can point you to the support pages for good information about the System Recovery vs. system restore thingy..... it does get confusing.
     
  3. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    System Restore can run out of space....

    The amount it uses can be adjusted....

    The old Restore Points can be deleted....

    It's all explained here>>> http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/tutorial143.html


    System Recovery is provided by the manufacturer, it puts the computer back to factory condition if you are unable to start up to Windows, for example, you might want to Recover....

    Or, if the main hard disk fails...you will HAVE TO use System Recovery to put back the same operating system etc that you had.

    Restore just goes back in time to a previous Point....

    The Recovery partition (or Drive) is not supposed to be used to store anything except what Windows itself put there. It is a small partition....by design.

    Have you or anyone been using this Recovery drive to back up to??????

    Some advanced users, who do have the Recovery media and know how to use it, can delete the Recovery partition entirely, since the Recovery process usually but not always, rebuilds this partition.

    I don't advise new to Vista users to delete this Recovery drive.
     
  4. seileen

    seileen Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    The computer is HP Pavillion dv6700 notebook PC. It is a friends laptop and she is not experienced in computers - me either apparently! How do I tell if she has been saving files to drive D?
     
  5. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
  6. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Hi,

    Underneath the notebook on a tag or label you will find the exact model number....dv6700 is the family of HP notebook....there are many sub-models so I need that exact model to look up anything useful.

    Can't you view the Recovery drive in Windows Explorer?

    Do this first>



    You can use these directions to again hide system files, etc should you or the friend wish to. It's an optional thing.

    Then, check the contents of My Computer and look at the drive info

    Post the drive letters/names and how much Used vs. Free space they each take up/have.

    ((Just the hard drives....the DVD/CD drive of course won't have anything.....))


    And can you see what Backup and Restore is set to backup and where it saves to?

    If it is doing Incremental backups....you should change it to full ones, and do them at set intervals...it doesn't sound like there is anything really critical such as work files being worked on....

    This is where saving copies to an external media or drive really shines.... no depending on the same computer or hard drive.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/857242

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice