1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista can ping but not browse - HELP please!

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Megatel, Feb 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Megatel

    Megatel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I am running MS Vista and am unable to browse the internet. It worked one night, then would not work the next morning. Here is my HJT log. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 10:19:14 AM, on 2/17/2008
    Platform: Windows Vista (WinNT 6.00.1904)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16609)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\Windows\system32\taskeng.exe
    C:\Windows\system32\Dwm.exe
    C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe
    C:\Windows\RtHDVCpl.exe
    C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eAudio\eAudio.exe
    C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
    C:\Program Files\Dell Photo AIO Printer 924\dlccmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Apoint2K\Apoint.exe
    C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Apoint2K\ApMsgFwd.exe
    C:\Program Files\Apoint2K\Apntex.exe
    C:\Users\Cathy\AppData\Local\Temp\RtkBtMnt.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\ieuser.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://en.us.acer.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://en.us.acer.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
    R3 - URLSearchHook: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - (no file)
    O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
    O2 - BHO: Adobe PDF Reader Link Helper - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: ShowBarObj Class - {83A2F9B1-01A2-4AA5-87D1-45B6B8505E96} - C:\Windows\system32\ActiveToolBand.dll
    O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Acer eDataSecurity Management - {5CBE3B7C-1E47-477e-A7DD-396DB0476E29} - C:\Windows\system32\eDStoolbar.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Windows Defender] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe -hide
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RtHDVCpl] RtHDVCpl.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [eAudio] "C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eAudio\eAudio.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvSvc] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\Windows\system32\nvsvc.dll,nvsvcStart
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\Windows\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSConfig] "C:\Windows\System32\msconfig.exe" /auto
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DLCCCATS] rundll32 C:\Windows\system32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\DLCCtime.dll,[email protected]
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [dlccmon.exe] "C:\Program Files\Dell Photo AIO Printer 924\dlccmon.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Apoint] C:\Program Files\Apoint2K\Apoint.exe
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [WindowsWelcomeCenter] rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
    O4 - Startup: Registration .LNK = C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\Telltale Games\CSI-Hard Evidence\Register\RegistrationReminder.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\Program Files\Google\googletoolbar.dll/cmsearch.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\Program Files\Google\googletoolbar.dll/cmbacklinks.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\Program Files\Google\googletoolbar.dll/cmcache.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\Program Files\Google\googletoolbar.dll/cmsimilar.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate into English - res://C:\Program Files\Google\googletoolbar.dll/cmtrans.html
    O13 - Gopher Prefix:
    O16 - DPF: {67A5F8DC-1A4B-4D66-9F24-A704AD929EEE} (System Requirements Lab) - http://www.nvidia.com/content/DriverDownload/srl/2.0.0.1/sysreqlab2.cab
    O23 - Service: ALaunch Service (ALaunchService) - Unknown owner - C:\Acer\ALaunch\ALaunchSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Lic NetConnect service (CLTNetCnService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSvcHst.exe
    O23 - Service: dlcc_device - - C:\Windows\system32\dlcccoms.exe
    O23 - Service: eDataSecurity Service - HiTRSUT - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eDataSecurity\eDSService.exe
    O23 - Service: eLock Service (eLockService) - Acer Inc. - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eLock\Service\eLockServ.exe
    O23 - Service: eNet Service - Acer Inc. - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eNet\eNet Service.exe
    O23 - Service: eRecovery Service (eRecoveryService) - Acer Inc. - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eRecovery\eRecoveryService.exe
    O23 - Service: eSettings Service (eSettingsService) - Unknown owner - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eSettings\Service\capuserv.exe
    O23 - Service: LightScribeService Direct Disc Labeling Service (LightScribeService) - Hewlett-Packard Company - C:\Program Files\Common Files\LightScribe\LSSrvc.exe
    O23 - Service: MobilityService - Unknown owner - C:\Acer\Mobility Center\MobilityService.exe
    O23 - Service: Cyberlink RichVideo Service(CRVS) (RichVideo) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\CyberLink\Shared Files\RichVideo.exe
    O23 - Service: Viewpoint Manager Service - Viewpoint Corporation - C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Common\ViewpointService.exe
    O23 - Service: ePower Service (WMIService) - acer - C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\ePower\ePowerSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: XAudioService - Conexant Systems, Inc. - C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\xaudio.exe

    --
    End of file - 6187 bytes
     
  2. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,844
    I'm going to move this to the Vista forum as it doesn't appear to be malware related. I've been informed that it may be related to a recent MS update. Did this happen right after installing updates? Also I don't see any anti-virus program running. There are a couple of Norton services but nothing in the running processes so you should address that.

    Also go to the Control Panel and remove any of these you find there as they are foistware:

    Viewpoint
    Viewpoint Manager
    Viewpoint Media Player
     
  3. shadowfax007

    shadowfax007

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Yeah, probably a Vista specific issue.

    If you go to the command prompt and ping google.com and it doesn't time out and resolves an IP address, then your internet connection is fine. You will also recieve windows updates and some virus scanners will still be able to connect and download updated definitions while experiencing this issue.

    Fix one of 2 ways. You can either use the F8 menu and choose the Repair option to rollback Vista to an earlier restore point (a day before your browser stopped working) or you can manually go into the update list from the control panal and remove all the security/cumulative updates since the day your browser went down...(i went one day before to be safe). Restart you comp and check if your browser works again. If it does, immediately go into Windows Update and change it from autodownload and install to simply alerting you that downloads are waiting and that you choose which ones you want to install. Reinstall each one at a time and everytime check to make sure your browser still works. I reinstalled all of them except for the last Cumulative security update for internet explorer as i believe something in that killed it.

    I really hope this helps, as i spent 4 hours nashing my teeth and bleeding my eyes looking for the same help everyone else looked for on the net. (which led me here to your post looking for an answer) Everyday i deal with another Vista issue for one of my friends computers im so happy i stuck with XP.

    Oh and just in case, someone else on another board offered this for a similar fix. It didn't work for me but just in case my suggestion didn't work, you could try to reset your winsock. go to the CMD prompt and type

    netsh winsock reset

    and hope for the best.

    Good luck all!
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    I have seen some recent issues with IE7 and the latest thread I was involved in, required the person to install the latest update for IE7 for it to work again. What exact error message are you getting when you launch IE7.
     
  5. Megatel

    Megatel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I have rolled it back to Feb 14. Still getting the same errors.

    Everything worked on the night of Feb 15, then wouldn't browse on the morning of the 16th.

    When I try to go to my homepage, which is www.google.com, it says "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage". If I type in a different address in the address bar such as www.ford.com it gives me an error message that says "The address is not valid" and the address bar then shows http:///

    I can ping and resolve names in a dos window without any problem.
     
  6. shadowfax007

    shadowfax007

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Uggg... Vista you slay me.

    Have you tried Firefox? If u can download it from another computer and put it on a usb stick, give it a shot.

    My buddy told me that he had Firefox running for 2 days before it went down as well. (Explorer went down on the 12th, Firefox on the 15th)... thats something i can't explain. If someone can, please let me know.

    I would still try to remove any recent Internet Explorer updates from the Windows Update list and then redownload/install them one at a time.

    Sorry i can't help further... Vista just ain't my thing. I only deal with it when my friend calls crying that it's messed itself up again.
     
  7. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Run>CMD

    type:

    ipconfig /flushdns
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  9. Jasman

    Jasman

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    I don't know if this will help you, but I was having a simular issue (I could ping anything, but no browsing at all) on my Vista Home Premuim laptop. After a week of trying different things that didn't work I looked at when it broke and what I was doing. Long story shortened, it broke after auto updates installed KB944533. After an I uninstalled it I was good to go. Then I forgot to turn off auto updates and it re-installed it and browsing went down. Pullled it again and browsing worked. I don't know if its just my machine or the way the patch works with Vista Home, we have a Vista Business machine with the patch and no issues. Give it a try.
     
  10. wilmafingerdo

    wilmafingerdo

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Problem was that I could ping addresses, and was able to get a response. DNS was working at a low level.

    I followed the following information:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928233/en-us

    Which had to do with how the router passes information with DhcpConnEnableBcastFlagToggle

    hope this helps

    wilma

     
  11. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    111,844
    Are you the same user as Megatel? If so, why did you create a new name? :)

    Thanks for posting the solution. :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/684101

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice