Vista crash screen

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Iniovan

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
3
http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/9674/pc230529xw6.jpg

This is how my computer looks, even when I reboot. I never get to see anything, but I hear that the OS is working fine since I can login, and Windows sounds like Windows, still.

There was a similar thread here, written 3 years ago, about this same screen.
The support said, that time around, that it was connected to the video driver.

But how do I update things if I can't see what I'm doing?
Strings of command?
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
14,142
What type of PC is this, laptop or desktop?

If a desktop, is it using a graphics card, if so does it have onboard graphics that you can try.

If no onboard graphics, try reseating the card and make sure it is clean. Borrow another card to try.

By tapping F8 at boot up will it show anything on screen and go into Safe Mode?
 

Iniovan

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
3
Hello again!

It is a desktop, Fuijitsu Siemens or something, running Windows Vista.
I have a graphics card, but I don't know what 'on-board' graphics is.

Furthermore, I can push F8, but nothing seems to happen, it's still this crazy screen.

I connected my screen to my laptop, and there it works,
so its definitely something with the computer itself.

Are there any safe ways, completely solid commands I mean,
through which I'd be certain of reaching some command sequence,
through which I could reset drivers, even without seeing what I'm doing?
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
14,142
It is looking like a graphics card failure.

On the back of the PC is there another socket that the cable will plug into that goes to the screen? If so, power down and remove the graphics card then try it with the screen connected to the other connector.
 

Iniovan

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
3
No other connectors, all available ones go directly into the graphics card.

I removed it and cleaned it a bit, to no avail.

This seems to be the end, then.
Thanks for your time :)
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
14,142
Your next move would be to try and borrow a graphics card to see if it rectifies the problem, that test should confirm if it is an issue with the card or something else.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top