1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista Defender messed me up!

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by LandonCamp7, Apr 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LandonCamp7

    LandonCamp7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    About a week ago I got a pop-up for a "Vista Defender." Found out it was a virus and went through the process of cleaning up the mess it made. I removed the virus manually but now i have a error message come up everytime i try to click into anything with the ".exe" extention. the error message says

    "This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the Set Associations control panel."

    I cannot system restore and my computer didn't come with a disk to restore the factory settings. I have everything i need on a ZIP drive but need help restoring my computer back to its original state. I really dont want to have pay the Geek Squad $130 to fix it. Anything will help! Thank you VERY much!
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Try this fix: EXEFIX

    Unzip the fix and extract the .REG file to the Desktop. Right-click the .REG file and choose Merge. Note that you need to be an Administrator to apply this fix.

    Reboot the computer.

    If the fix only opens as a text file, right-click it and select Open With > Choose Program... Then, select the Registry Editor.

    If the Registry Editor is not in the list, browse to C:\WINDOWS and select regedit.
     
  3. LandonCamp7

    LandonCamp7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    This may seem dumb but i computer illiterate. I'm on someone elses computer with my laptop infront of me. how do i get to the EXEFIX manually?
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    I'm guessing you can't connect to the Internet with the faulty computer?

    If so, use a working computer, the one you're using right now, download and save the fix. Then, copy the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into your faulty computer, save the fix on it then run it as described above.
     
  5. LandonCamp7

    LandonCamp7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you I'll try it and get back to ya.
     
  6. LandonCamp7

    LandonCamp7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hey This was exactly what I needed. It worked! Thank you SOOO much!
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/920141

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice