1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista.. Freezes! But works in Safe Mode fine

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by RJ9500, Aug 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RJ9500

    RJ9500 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Hello

    I am new here, posting with an extremely inconvienient issue. I am running Windows Vista on an HP Pavillion dv6626 laptop. My issue is that Vista is constantly freezing upon startup, without any error message or indication whatsoever. It started once every week or so, then to everyday within 30 minutes of startup. Now, its within 5 minutes sometimes the desktop doesnt even load before the freeze. After the system freezes, I have to hold down the power button to shut off the machine.

    There's a couple details that lead me to belive the issue is software related and not a hardware issue. First, when the system freezes, I can still move the cursor via the touchpad, 95% of the time. I just cannot select a window, toggle between screens, or get any keyboard functionality or any other response at all. Second, I can boot up in safe mode and have all the functionality as safe mode will allow with no issues. I can also startup in Diagnostic mode with no issue at all, but again, tasks are limited.

    I have deleted countless files and uninstalled probably 60% of my programs including the most recently installed ones. I've updated windows, and cleaned temporary files, and I just received extensive assistance to solve a malware issue which I beleive to be fixed. (This issue began before I had a virus issue)

    So.. I'm out of ideas. I'm posting this now in Safe Mode With Networking, and hoping for some help. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    My opinion/advice is to cut your loses--format the disk and reinstall Windows. :( With that out of the way ...

    Assume that it's one or more tasks or services that do not run in Safe Mode with Networking.

    For tasks work with the Startup tab in msconfig. Disable them all and restart. If the problem occurs you can re-enable them and work with services. If the problem disappears you can re-enable 1, or several or 1/2 and eventually find the culprit.

    For services (Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services) first note the few that are running in Safe Mode--these are apparently OK.

    Then in normal mode stop 1, several, or all but one of the other running services and begin your search.
     
  3. ISDP

    ISDP

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Yea, your fastest way would be to try repair vista or reformat.I know that Hp's don't come with restore disc or a OS disc so i hope you made them. With no blue screen error the computer itself is fine, which is good news. So yes I concur its probably a software related issue, also you may want to try a registry repair. and make sure all the drivers are installed.
     
  4. RJ9500

    RJ9500 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Well, you gotta do what u gotta do. Thank you guys for the advice..

    I have no restore discs so I'm really not sure how to approach this. I will attempt to back up my most important files via safe mode first, then proceed to this solution.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    You have a Recovery partition, which can be used as long as you can boot into Windows. Best to make a set of Recovery DVDs or CDs in case someday you cannot boot or the Recovery partition is damaged. And, of course, it's always an excellent idea to have your data backed up even when there is no immediate problem.
     
  6. Braydenmartindal

    Braydenmartindal

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Before you format what is your syetm configuration and has it allways doen this or just started ?
     
  7. RJ9500

    RJ9500 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    What do you mean by configuration?

    I'm running Windows Vista on an HP Pavillion dv6500 Notebook PC
    With an Intel(R) Core(RM)2 Duo CPU T5250 @ 1.50GHz 1.50GHz
    RAM 1014 MB 32-bit Operating System

    and the freezing has happened occasionally for about a month, now its so frequent, I cannot boot in normal mode. Can I activate HP Recovery via safe mode?
     
  8. Braydenmartindal

    Braydenmartindal

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    I am not 100% sure I will look into it I thought the freezeing may have been caused by little ram but it looks like you have enough there but I do recomend at least 2GB for vista I would contact HP to ask them about HP Recovery I have never owned an HP so Im not 100% but dont format because hp may be able to help you fix the problem
     
  9. RJ9500

    RJ9500 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Alright, so I have a development...

    I booted in safe mode, went to msconfig startup services and I disabled all except the bare necessities. I then booted in normal mode with no issue at all. Of course my abilities were extremely limited including no networking, but from here I started re-enabling services, 5 at a time... Booting and rebooting and rebooting over and over again with no issues until I reached "Windows Search." Probably one of the services that I least expected, but Windows Search is definitely the culprit. I tested it (1) by enabling all services except WS and booted up just fine.. and (2) again enabling only the bare necessity services, and WS.. which caused an immediate freeze. I am now posting in "Selective Startup" mode with every service except WS enabled.

    So Windows Search uses the executible file SearchIndexer.exe in the Windows/System32 folder. Whhhaaaaatttt do I do about this? Can I delete it? Update the driver? Permenantly disable it?
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Good trouble shooting! :)

    The first thing I'd try is open a Command prompt (may need to open with Administrative privileges) and do

    sfc /scannow

    and hope that it finds/fixes a problem in a file.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/736300

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice