1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista Freezes During Boot

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Pinjarai, Jan 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pinjarai

Pinjarai Thread Starter

Well, hi. First time poster, semi-regular lurker. How you doin'?

So. My friend's computer bit it last night/this morning (She's in EST, I'm in CST). She has a Vista laptop (32-bit, if memory serves) and we all know how deplorable that OS is. Problem is, I can't help her. I'm a novice at all this stuff, and no amount of Googling turns up the same exact issue. Even if it's close, it isn't exact and I'm stuck opening tabs to define terms I'm unsure of. So please bear with me here.

Right. A little history. Her computer needed its hard drive replaced about six months ago and the warranty is now up. It had been BSODing beforehand. This time things seemed mostly fine, aside from the usual Vista complaints. There was just one peculiarity: The Task Manager would not show up. Right-clicking on the task bar did nothing. Ctrl + Alt + Del did nothing. I was concerned, but said friend lacks the funds to get it looked over -- never mind replaced. And since the laptop worked well enough, I let it slide.

Until a few hours ago.

FireFox started acting up. It does this regularly on her computer for some reason, though most of the time we dismiss it because FireFox likes its hiccups. Anyway. I suggested she go into Programs and uninstall FireFox then go re-download it. Things escalated from there. FireFox froze and had to keep being closed. So it did the fade/semi-white screen thing and stayed that way. And since she couldn't access Task Manager, she was forced to restart.

This happened several times. I am not kidding when I say it must have been ten intervals of restarting.