1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista Hangs

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by usintheuk, Oct 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. usintheuk

    usintheuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    I am running vista premium and it hangs on me at least once a day i have copied the event viewer report here, unfortunately i don't understand it so could anybody please help.

    Log Name: Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance/Operational
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance
    Date: 03/10/2008 07:28:50
    Event ID: 100
    Task Category: Boot Performance Monitoring
    Level: Critical
    Keywords: Event Log
    User: LOCAL SERVICE
    Computer: Adrian-PC
    Description:
    Windows has started up:
    Boot Duration : 161746ms
    IsDegradation : true
    Incident Time (UTC) : 03/10/2008 06:25:51
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance" Guid="{cfc18ec0-96b1-4eba-961b-622caee05b0a}" />
    <EventID>100</EventID>
    <Version>1</Version>
    <Level>1</Level>
    <Task>4002</Task>
    <Opcode>34</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8000000000010000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2008-10-03T06:28:50.130Z" />
    <EventRecordID>739</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation ActivityID="{00000000-6E88-0000-1537-03E22025C901}" />
    <Execution ProcessID="1872" ThreadID="2248" />
    <Channel>Microsoft-Windows-Diagnostics-Performance/Operational</Channel>
    <Computer>Adrian-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-19" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="BootTsVersion">2</Data>
    <Data Name="BootStartTime">2008-10-03T06:25:51.781Z</Data>
    <Data Name="BootEndTime">2008-10-03T06:28:34.585Z</Data>
    <Data Name="SystemBootInstance">119</Data>
    <Data Name="UserBootInstance">114</Data>
    <Data Name="BootTime">161746</Data>
    <Data Name="MainPathBootTime">45505</Data>
    <Data Name="BootKernelInitTime">36</Data>
    <Data Name="BootDriverInitTime">2654</Data>
    <Data Name="BootDevicesInitTime">5536</Data>
    <Data Name="BootPrefetchInitTime">34809</Data>
    <Data Name="BootPrefetchBytes">499056640</Data>
    <Data Name="BootAutoChkTime">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BootSmssInitTime">11848</Data>
    <Data Name="BootCriticalServicesInitTime">3324</Data>
    <Data Name="BootUserProfileProcessingTime">11591</Data>
    <Data Name="BootMachineProfileProcessingTime">2542</Data>
    <Data Name="BootExplorerInitTime">2417</Data>
    <Data Name="BootNumStartupApps">13</Data>
    <Data Name="BootPostBootTime">116241</Data>
    <Data Name="BootIsRebootAfterInstall">false</Data>
    <Data Name="BootRootCauseStepImprovementBits">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BootRootCauseGradualImprovementBits">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BootRootCauseStepDegradationBits">9437184</Data>
    <Data Name="BootRootCauseGradualDegradationBits">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BootIsDegradation">true</Data>
    <Data Name="BootIsStepDegradation">true</Data>
    <Data Name="BootIsGradualDegradation">false</Data>
    <Data Name="BootImprovementDelta">0</Data>
    <Data Name="BootDegradationDelta">48853</Data>
    <Data Name="BootIsRootCauseIdentified">true</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
     
  2. ryanjoachim

    ryanjoachim

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    From my experience that error code "0x8000000000010000" is usually related to a memory issue.

    When you reboot next time, hit tab at the boot menu and select the Memory Diagnostic option. Let that run. Also check and make sure that if you have more than 1 stick of memory that they are the SAME, both in size and brand.

    If the memory test shows nothing, try running with just 1 stick of ram for a while (assuming you have 2). This will give you a good idea whether or not your ram has anything to do with your issues.
     
  3. usintheuk

    usintheuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    I have 2 sticks of ram. One is 2gig the other is 512meg
     
  4. ryanjoachim

    ryanjoachim

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    Take out the 512 and run the memory test. Also, after the test leave the 512 out and run your comp like normal, see if the same issues arise.
     
  5. usintheuk

    usintheuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Took the memory out and did test no problems found with test. But when i looked at the ram that i took out it was not 512 it was 1gig so that could be the problem?
     
  6. ryanjoachim

    ryanjoachim

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    Do both sticks say 1gig?

    The big issue is that both sticks need to be the same size, and the same brand/speed.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/755685

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice