Vista haven´t detected my card.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

alsord

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
28
I just put a new Videocard in to the PCI/E slot, but now I cant find it.
Vista cant find it and I can find it in BIOS, its like it isn´t in!

Tech:
OS: MS Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 DualCore 4400+
Menory: 3,0 GB DDR2 Ram
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,368
First Name
Frank
You didn't provide a description of the video card.

Did you install the driver for it after you restarted your computer?

What's listed in the Device Manager under Display Adapters and Other Devices?

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

alsord

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
28
I have an onboard ATI Radeon 2100 with shared Ram

I want a GeForce 7300GS.

"Device Manager under Display Adapters and Other Devices?"
ATI Radeon 2100 only
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,368
First Name
Frank
I have an onboard ATI Radeon 2100 with shared Ram

I want a GeForce 7300GS.

"Device Manager under Display Adapters and Other Devices?"
ATI Radeon 2100 only
From what you're saying, I'm assuming that you installed a NVIDIA GeForce 7300GS video card, but the Device Manager is still recognizing the on-board ATI Radeon 2100 graphics controller.

If that's the case, have you disabled the on-board graphics controller in the Device Manager or in the BIOS setup?

Some BIOS setups allow the on-board graphics controller to be disabled, but not all of them do.

----------------------------------------------------------------
 

alsord

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
28
You asumed correct (y)

I have tried in the BIOS but im not 100% sure what to do so I rather keep out.

If i disable it in the Device Manager wont the screen go black or what???
 

antech

Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
The screen wont go black.
Disable the On-board card in the BIOS and enable the one you have attached.
Also attach the monitor to the new card
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,368
First Name
Frank
If you disable the ATI Radeon 2100 on-board graphics controller and you've already installed the NVIDIA GeForce 7300GS video card and its driver, it should kick in and take over.

And make sure you have the monitor connected to the video card port and not to the on-board graphics controller port. I've seen that mistake happen.

-------------------------------------------------------------
 

alsord

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
28
Ive had some IRL help today with some old fashioned trouble shooting and we figuret out that the card was fried.
Så i got a new one no that works and its better than the 7300.

But thanks anyway.
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,368
First Name
Frank
Now we know why it wasn't recognized. :eek:

I'm glad to hear you got the problem resolved. (y)

---------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top