1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista Install stuck in reboot look

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Flo357, Jul 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Flo357

Flo357 Thread Starter

I'm a noob to this sight, someone help...i can't install vista it gets stuck in a reboot loop

I've been trying to install vista on my system.
    1. Tried clean install it goes through "windows is loading files" and once that finishes it reboots and does the same thing all over again.
    2. Tried to install xp first and then do an upgrade...it does everything it should then reboots and does the same as above.
    3. In safe mode it goes all the way to disk.sys before it does the reboot loop.

Specs
    Asus A8N-E (with latest bios 1013)
    Athlon 64 x2 3800
    3d Fuzion nvidia 7800gt (bfg)
    Kingston value ram 512mb x 2 (right now i'm just using 1 512 stick)
    Kingston value ram 1gb x 1 (not using this right now)
    Seagate baraccuda 300gb PATA 7200rpm
    seagate baraccuda 500gb sata 7200rpm (not using this right now)

notes...
    1. I have other hard drives i've tested also (3 200gb pata drives, 1 500gb pata drives all seagates) same result
    2. I've tried switching out ram...now just using 1 512mb stick
    3. I've tried disabling everything on the motherboard (raid, usb, serial, parallel, game port, audio, lan, etc.)
    4. No i'm not trying to do any raid
    5. It all works fine on XP.
    6. I had a similar reboot loop problem when installing xp but during the xp install i can just press f5 to tell and choose acpi pc. but that had to do with mup.sys hanging.
    7. all memory & hardware test fine using pc-doc & memtest...i've been using all the same hardeware for over a year. but doesn't seem to be vista friendly.

HELP????