1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

vista internet problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by molid, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. molid

    molid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    hi, i installed windows vista ultimate the other day as an upgrade from windows xp. i am currently using a linksys wirless router. while i had xp installed all my internet seemed to be working ok. since i upgraded to vista everything is working fine apart from that i cant access the internet at all. i go to network and create a new network connection. as i create it i choose the BT home hub downstairs and it goes on asking about the WEP key etc.... when i added the information in, it says it has connected to the hub and to click next to see if i am connected to the internet. i click on yes and it says i have connected to the internet correctly. now the problem is when i now click on the internet explorer icon it doesnt load up and webpages and says there is a problem although it states in the network area it is fully connected to the internet. i then accessed my hub from my computer and it comes up saying that the wireless is connected from my linksys to the hub downstairs. i have tried taking off the firewalls and re-installing the linksys device but nothing has seemed to work so far. can anybody help me please. :)
     
  2. gurutech

    gurutech

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    Try disabling IPV6 on the Vista machine. With the beta versions, the IPV6 caused tons of lockups/connection issues.
     
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    For starters, are you trying to connect wired or wireless.

    If wireless, are you getting valid IP address information assigned.

    Start / Run / CMD
    Then
    IPCONFIG /ALL > c:\ip.txt

    then

    notepad c:\ip.txt and post the results.

    If you are getting valid IP addresses,

    ping 4.2.2.1
    ping www.yahoo.com

    and post the results.
     
  4. molid

    molid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    hi, i looked at the ip and it is 192. my connection is wireless. the connection says it is limited but cannot connect to the internet itself although i have full signal.:confused:
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    I would expect getting an error "the connection says it is limited but cannot connect to the internet itself" would be a problem

    What about the results of the ping test?
    Can you ping the router's IP. That would be the same as the gateway.
    Also, it's ok to post the 192.x.x.x. address information. They are not public addresses.
     
  6. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Getting conflicting information. The previous post says "i looked at the ip and it is 192". Now it is 169.x.x.x.

    If the last one is correct, then you are not getting an IP address assigned to your wireless card.

    For starters, turn off any wireless security until you get it working.
     
  7. molid

    molid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    hi again here is the ping i did on my computer and i see it has came up 169. whihc means it cannot connect outside. can anybody help please.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Have you tried the suggestions so far? Just keep getting the same post twice
     
  9. molid

    molid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    yes it is 169 sorry about that. ok then thanks i will try that when i get home as i am at a friends. thanks
     
  10. ajaytemp

    ajaytemp

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Alright, I got the same problem. Wired Ethernet is working perfect. Wireless Ethernet does not work (Limited Connectivity). The OS connection module can connect to other Wireless DSL Modems (linksys); just not mine.
    Tried all the standard potential solutions; and the ones on this webpage. Absolutely no progress. Looks like an OS problemoh; no answers on Actiontec's website. Some people through the Web are complaining. I'm not a networking Internet textbook (engr.?) expert (prob. lot of money in that field).

    Here is the data:
    C:\Users\Ajaytemp>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ajaytemp-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain_not_set.invalid

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
    nection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-D2-99-37-E5
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6833:7861:9093:d859%9(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.216.89(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234887634
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain_not_set.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8038 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-B8-C7-2D-89
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::197e:831d:effd:4c6f%8(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, June 01, 2007 12:38:49 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, June 02, 2007 4:18:45 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201384120
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    68.238.0.12
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain_not_set.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.domain_not_set.invalid
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.64%14(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    68.238.0.12
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4136:e378:2c32:10ee:3f57:febf(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c32:10ee:3f57:febf%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{1D50C78A-AE34-4C6B-9AC7-5C3A95C9E
    AFF}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.216.89%20(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled






    How the hell do you get that evil kitty to be animated on the desktop wallpaper? It should have a machine gun not a sniping rifle. Not smart enough for that; oh well! (y) :eek: :D :cool:
     
  11. ajaytemp

    ajaytemp

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    A solution here worked once; It had connectivity through the 'Network and Sharing center' connection module but I did not log on to the Internet (Web).
    Then it didn't work after I disconnected. I don't remember why. I got a faulty memory.

    http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=1186554&SiteID=17
    -----------------------------------------
    Ok folks....Here's the deal.
    The following is the workaround, or hot fix, to correct the "known issue" with Verizon and Actiontec's DSL Modem/Router using Windows Vista due to software incompatibility, where you have a connection but are always prompted to renter the modems admin username/password because it thinks it has been "altered".
    This works as I have used it myself and it came directly from Verizon. It is for advanced users and you MUST have either another computer connected to the internet by some other means, or phone a friend to help you.


    1.(on pc with issue)
    access the modem gui (192.168.1.1) > note WAN IP address

    2.
    click "advanced setup"

    3.
    enter admin login for modem (default is "admin" and "password")

    4.
    click on "remote management/telnet"

    5.
    select "ON" for Remote Management

    6.
    Click apply

    7.
    close browser



    8. (on remote pc)
    on a pc with a different IP address... type in the browser....http://XX.XXX.XX.XX./verizon/redirect
    where XX.XXX.XX.XX is the WAN Ip of the Actiontec modem

    9.
    Login with admin name and password (default is "admin" and "password")

    10.
    At the "restricted" screen click "OFF"

    11.
    refresh IE > make sure "ON" is on the screen ...but DO NOT click.



    12. (on pc with issue)
    in IE under the options/advance....reset IE options

    13.
    Powercycle modem and pc

    14.
    access modem gui (192.168.1.1)

    15.
    click "advanced setup"

    16.
    enter admin login for modem

    17.
    click on "remote management/telnet"

    18.
    select "OFF" for Remote Management

    19.
    Click apply

    20.
    close browser

    I hope this helps. It did for me.
    ------------------------------------------------

    I didn't for me.

    Who the heck is doing all this (if it's an OS problem).
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,967
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest driver/utility for the Intel adapter from the Gateway web site.

    Try connecting w/o encryption if you have not yet done so.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544237

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice