vista is slower than xp

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joyceawood17

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
7
Since I have gotten this vista computer everything is taking alot longer to do than my old computer that had xp on it, Is this just this new program or is there a problem with my computer, oh this is my work computer notebook:confused:
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Unless you have two identical computer (hardware and software) and the only difference is Windows XP and Vista, there are a whole bunch of things that could cause a perceived performance difference.

What are the system specs on the Vista machine? Processor speed, graphics, memory, etc.?
Did you look at what's running in the background and how much memory is in use?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
How about some specifics as to configurations and the applications involved?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
881
Do you have ample memory? Remember to run Vista the minimum requirements for the memory is 512mb but the recommended is 1GB ram.
 

joyceawood17

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
7
remember I am a beginner so here is what I have Hp Pavilion dv9000 rp245ua#ab
memory (ram) 2046 mb
processor: intel(R) core(TM)2
system type 32-bit
HP recovery (D:) 634 mb free of 6.59gm
Local disk (C:) 115 gb free of 142 gb

does this information help
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
881
So far your memory is quite enough to run Vista...however what is the version you are currently running? If your running Vista Ultimate your memory is enough but the thing is if you are also running the aero it will drain lots of your RAM. I hope your graphics card is not an onboard cause this will also gonna share memory with your OS.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,213

joyceawood17

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
7
No I have not made a back up disk, this is actually my work computer that the owner brought in for me, when he need to take my note book because some programs would not work for another employee that needed xp. This notebook is alot nicer than my old computer but it is a big pain to run. the model number I gave you came right off my program I will look it up again when I get back on that computer.
 

joyceawood17

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
7
actually I think the vista program came already installed in this computer when it was bought. The owner had bought this computer for himself and when they needed to take my notebook for another employee he brought me in this one. Which is alot nicer than my old one.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
414
Actually Aero in toto is not such a hog-- just a coupla components. You can disable them + other hogs with TweakHound guide: http://www.tweakhound.com/vista/tweakguide/index.htm
although one or two older programs here and there still can't handle Aero....

vispa will take all that a step further: http://vispa.whyeye.org/

and/or nCleaner : http://www.nkprods.com/ncleaner/

as well as TweakVI: http://www.totalidea.com/content/tweakvi/tweakvi-index.html

and Vista Network Helper: http://keznews.com/2872_Vista_Network_Helper_v1_5

plus the ultimate tools--

X-Setup: http://www.x-setup.net/
and FreshUI: http://www.freshdevices.com/uifile.html

If you're still raring to go, then go to BlackViper: http://www.blackviper.com/WinVista/servicecfg.htm

these next two are mainly for installing & updating BUT they do apply a lot of tweaks & give ability to trim unnecessary vista components--

vLite: http://www.vlite.net/
autopatcher vista: http://www.autopatcher.com/autopatcher-vista/

Good Luck.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top