1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista Issues with Sound/Audio In/out Jacks.

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Togman, May 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Togman

    Togman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hi, i recently whiped my desktop that is around 8 months old of XP, and Had to Install Vista Home Premium.
    Before the new Vista installation i was able to use Ventrilo and Teamspeak with no worries over the period of many many years. All of a sudden since Vista is now in Charge of my PC i can Plug my -HP Premium Stereo Headset-(exact brand, and brand new) In to the rear in/out jacks pink and green. And hear vent and the game but not be able to talk through the Mic, same goes with Voice recognition and Skype etc etc etc...

    Now before i get a bunch of answers just know i have been at this for over 7 days now researching it every last waking minute i am not at work.. I have done the Driver Updates, Currently there are two High Defenition Audio Drivers which i believe are Vistas, and also done the Recording Devices and Sound/Playback etc adjusting the levels. I have noticed that when i tried to Install Realtek to replace the Vista drivers, since they don't have front / rear jack control panel or w/e it goes through the whole process then it restarts comp like normal, and whalaa.. Nothing back to default Sound Devices.

    I have been into Device Manager as well and checked both the HDAD and neither have a yellow innactive symbol near them. I have also uninstalled and reinstalled both. And along with this i have done MANY MANY other things trying to solve this..... It isn't my comp, everything is good here. And Can't be my headset/mic those are brand new.((Unless Vista does not support normal rear in/out audio jacks and only USB ports?))

    Here is my dxdiag and system specs for you guys. and Thanks in advance, here is praying this issue ends here.

    Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002) Service Pack 2
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor BE-2300 (2 CPUs), ~1.9GHz
    DirectX Version: DirectX 10
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found


    Card name: ATI Radeon HD 3800 Series


    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7682&
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.6002.18005 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 4/10/2009 21:43:02, 236544 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
    Description: Digital Output Device (HDMI) (2- High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: No
    Default Voice Playback: No
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_1002&DEV_
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.6002.18005 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 4/10/2009 21:43:02, 236544 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
    Description: Digital Output Device (SPDIF) (High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: No
    Default Voice Playback: No
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.6002.18005 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 4/10/2009 21:43:02, 236544 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
    ---------------------
    Sound Capture Devices
    ---------------------
    Description: Microphone (High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Capture: Yes
    Default Voice Capture: Yes
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.00.6002.18005 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Date and Size: 4/10/2009 21:43:02, 236544 bytes
    Cap Flags: 0x1
    Format Flags: 0xFFFFF




    If you need any other info at all PLEASE let me know. In PMs here or replying to this..I will be watching it like a Hawk lol. And thanks tons for any help you can give, even if it is just telling me how to disable my front jacks that i do not have that the sound manager thinks i have for the mic.. In BIOS that is. Tried f2 and others to no avail.

    Also when i installed vista after the whipe i did nothing to the bios..I am def not a pro at this.
     
  2. Togman

    Togman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Bump still looking, my speaker work, plugged headphones into My Lycose Razer and headphones work, just not the attached microphone.. Can it be something in my BIOS settings?
     
  3. Togman

    Togman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Still looking for a salution.
     
  4. Togman

    Togman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Bump seriously any help is appreciated.
     
  5. maceman

    maceman

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Hi Togman,
    I see you've done everything, but did you try another microphone or your mic with another computer?
    There is a small chance that your microphone jack is broken :(
     
  6. Togman

    Togman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Yeah i sure did, the Mic works great. And it worked just 2 days ago when xp was installed... Really wish i still had the xp discs =(
     
  7. maceman

    maceman

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Do you have your Mic Boost on? There are just too many different places for audio in vista..
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/921076

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice