1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista keeps asking my product key when I logon

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by linkmaster03, Apr 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. linkmaster03

    linkmaster03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    When I log on to my account, a window comes up and there is a black background. It asks if I want to:

    Access my computer with limited functionality
    Enter a different product key
    Contact TOSHIBA for support

    I select enter a product key. I enter it, and my computer is activated fine, and I have full access to my account as usual. But, this happens every single time I log on. I do not want to enter it every time I log on! This started happened when I installed the following updates:

    [​IMG]

    Also, when I am on the computer, Aero Glass and 3D window switching do not work. They worked perfect before those updates, and my system supports it.

    Please help.

    (Vista Home Premium)
     
  2. angelkiller117

    angelkiller117

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    something like that has been happening to me, just randomly though, haven't tried it at log in

    It's gives me the options of



    Buy a new product key online
    type a different product key
    contact acer to help resolve this issue
     
  3. linkmaster03

    linkmaster03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,301
    First Name:
    David
    Looks like "contact acer to help resolve this issue" is the BEST step to take!
     
  5. linkmaster03

    linkmaster03 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    I contacted Toshiba, my laptop provider (Acer was the repliers) and they transferred me to Microsoft to be issued a new product key. They couldn't give me a new key. What now?
     
  6. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Toshiba should handle it but one thing I would do is uninstall all the updates, turn off auto update and assume Ms knows the issue and will fix it with future updates. Maybe abetter thought would be to use System Restore to return the system to prior to the updates.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/703378

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice