1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista load error "preparing desktop" after repartition.

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by striderlps, Apr 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. striderlps

striderlps Thread Starter

Hi,

I'm a newbie here - after finding techsupportguy by googling for support forums for my particular problem. I hope someone in this community might have some ideas for me... :)

So after having a stable and successful dual-boot with XP and Vista Ultimate 32Bit for several months now, I got over-confident.

After a long night getting the kids to sleep, etc etc, I had the bright wee hours of the morning idea that I could quickly increase my Vista partition size as it was getting a little light (it shares an internal HDD with another drive letter) and promptly stuffed my Vista boot.

Setup = C:\ XP Boot (original OPSYS). V:\ Vista Partition (shared on same drive as D:\)

What I did...

* Booted into XP, loaded Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.
    * Resized D:\ (shrunk by 25GB) and Resized v:\ (increased by 25GB).
    * Applied actions.
    * Had a PC lock-up in XP some time later, reset PC.
    * Boot error - no Windows Vista found (load original disc).
    * Loaded Vista disc and used "r" option. Located vista partition, repaired.
    * Vista Booted (had rundll.exe error or something similar) and died.
    * Re-booted, hit F8 and selected "last known good config." Vista ran lengthy disc check. (Noticed Vista volume was now H:\ not V:\ ???)
    * Re-Booted- Vista loaded to login. Keyed password, and "preparing desktop" appeared.