Vista Local Access Only problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

denzo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
9
I've read a few threads about problems with the "local access only" message but mine appears to be a bit different and I'm unable to resolve.

Connecting my laptop to my home wireless network (I also have a desktop PC runiing windows 7 connected by wired connection to the Netgear router) I randomly get the "local access only" problem - sometime it works fine, sometimes it stubbornly refuses to connect. Sometimes I'll be connected, finish work, turn off the laptop, turn on a few hours later and no connection.:confused:

Other gadgets like my iphone and PS3 can connect wirelessly with no problem but my laptop has this irritating seemingly random refusal to connect. Rebooting the router sometimes works, but my normal workaround is to go into the desktop PC, change the SSID for the network and then log in again from the laptop. When finished I restore the original SSID (so the other gadgets work again) and often the laptop is able to connect.

It's irritating but at least I have a workaround - any ideas for a more permanent solution?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
Make and model of the router

May need to update the wireless driver - make and exact model of the laptop

If you connect to the router by cable - does it disconnect at all then ?

can we see a few things when the laptop is working and then repeat when it disconnects


------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Ping Tests}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
4
First don't go buy anything yet.Try right clicking on your internet icon bottom right hand corner.go to network and sharing center click on manage network settings remove all wireless access points shut down laptop and router for 5 mins. Start router then laptop go into connect to a connection and click on your setup if they ask for your key type it in and there you go :cool:
 

denzo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
9
Hi etaf

Answers as follows:

Router - Netgear DG834G v5
Laptop Toshiba Satellite U300 - 13 U Model PSU30E 04L02QKS
Works find when hard wired to router

Config and PING results:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Daves-Laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Wireless LAN adapter Home:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
nection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-BF-30-1E-15
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::bd81:9dbc:93db:20e%9(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 24 December 2010 10:31:56
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 25 December 2010 10:31:56
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167779519
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-23-A3-72-00-1B-24-C0-25-46
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-C0-25-46
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{664F7F90-6041-45AF-A943-1144A1175
D2F}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:30be:2da2:3f57:fffb(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::30be:2da2:3f57:fffb%17(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{8595E907-0C99-4DD2-9B9D-36D150B74
33B}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
C:\Users\Dave>
C:\Users\Dave>ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 3ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 3ms

C:\Users\Dave>ping google.com

Pinging google.com [173.194.37.104] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 173.194.37.104: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=55
Reply from 173.194.37.104: bytes=32 time=117ms TTL=55
Reply from 173.194.37.104: bytes=32 time=139ms TTL=55
Reply from 173.194.37.104: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=55

Ping statistics for 173.194.37.104:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 59ms, Maximum = 139ms, Average = 102ms

C:\Users\Dave>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=214ms TTL=47
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=134ms TTL=47
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=157ms TTL=47
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=180ms TTL=47

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 134ms, Maximum = 214ms, Average = 171ms

Will repeat with failed connection and see what happens.

Dave
 

denzo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
9
Supplementary - here's the config when it cannot connect - no default gateway so I didn't try the ping

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\Dave>cmd /k ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Daves-Laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Wireless LAN adapter Home:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
nection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-BF-30-1E-15
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::bd81:9dbc:93db:20e%9(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.2.14(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167779519
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-23-A3-72-00-1B-24-C0-25-46
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-C0-25-46
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{664F7F90-6041-45AF-A943-1144A1175
D2F}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{8595E907-0C99-4DD2-9B9D-36D150B74
33B}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
when this happened was anything else connected and using the wireless OK ?

Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.2.14
OK - so that means it cannot find the DHCP service

If you connect to the router by cable - does it disconnect at all then ?
did you try this

can we also see the xirrus screen shot
 

denzo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
9
Other Devices - My iphone works OK wirelessly

Wired connection - I am now working through wired connection on the laptop - this is fallback number two if I can't get wireless to work and can't be bothered changing the SSID!

Screenshot attached - wouldn't allow me to paste for some reason.

Dave
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
OK - so you dont have any interference but your on channel 13 - I assume you are in Europe - as ch13 is not supported in the US
Other Devices - My iphone works OK wirelessly
I would update the wireless adapter driver on the PC

Make and Exact model of the PC - if a DELL pc also the TAG number which should be on a label on the PC somewhere
 

denzo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
9
etaf,

Here's another odd thing. I tried changing the SSID to netgear02, but this time logged in my iphone to the new SSID. The laptop did not log in - same problem local access only. Changed it back to netgear01 and I am now successfully logged in working wirelessly from the laptop.

Here's the screen shot so you can see the two lines...

BTW yes I am in Europe - Scotland.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
maybe a problem with wireless profiles

(y) if its all working

you can mark as solved - button at the top of the post - " Mark Solved "
 

denzo

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
9
Etaf

Can you suggest what the problem with the wireless profile might be? I have the same problem sometimes logging into wifi at hotels etc, and don't have the option of rebooting the router or assigning a new SSID, which are the workarounds I can use at home.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
it maybe the SSID has the same name as one you have used before and the PC saves the Security password for that SSID - remove the wireless profiles from the PC
you then are asked to re-enter the security password

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Wireless Profiles
http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
- Vista/Windows7:
http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=214
- delete the wireless profiles
Start> control Panel> classic view> network and sharing center> manage wireless networks

Delete the profiles
you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
--

Wireless Profiles
http://mgmcc.forumotion.net/networking-tutorials-f17/removing-an-existing-wireless-profile-t109.htm
- XP
http://www.tp-link.com/support/showfaq.asp?id=186
- delete the preferred networks
start> control panel> network connections> right click on the wireless connection> listed wireless networks tab in the preferred network list click on each one and - remove button

you will then have to enter the wireless security key for any networks you connect to
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top