1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista MCE Hardware.

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Jaymzmcewan, Feb 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jaymzmcewan

    Jaymzmcewan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Hello all,

    I'm looking to get Vista Home Premium 32 OEM. I ran the Windows Vista Upgrade Advisor and it suggested i get Basic Home but i'm looking to get Vista Media Centre as well and so decided it would be best to go for Premium.

    This is my current hardware:

    Mobo: Abit GD8 PRO P4 775, Dual DDR2, PCIE, Intel 916P
    Processor: Intel Pentium4 640[3.2,RET,775 2MB]
    RAM: Kingmax 512MB PC4200 DDR2 SDRAM (x2)
    HD: Maxtor DiamondMax Plus10 SATA NCQ 200Gb 8Mb Cache
    GC: Novatech Geforce 7800GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-E SLI DVI TVO

    Firstly, would does anyone know if this would sufficiently run Vista Home Premium or whether i need to upgrade anything.

    Secondly, what extra harware do i need to buy to allow me to fully use all of Media Centre's features such as recording TV etc.

    Thanks for the help.

    James.
     
  2. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    You will need a Video Capture card to be able to watch/record TV . . when shopping, be sure to look for one compatible with Vista.
     
  3. Jaymzmcewan

    Jaymzmcewan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    thanks for the reply. just a few more questions.

    1) do i need any cables to plug into the tv tuner card?
    2) what channels can i pick up when installed?
    3) can anyone recommend or find me some decent Vista TV Tuner Cards?

    Thank You.
     
  4. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    You can get either an USB or PCI base tuner (I suggest PCI) whihc means no cables except for the one from your TV source.

    Boost your RAM up to 2 gigs.
     
  5. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/541979

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice