1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista network connection identifying but no internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sjcomp, Mar 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sjcomp

    sjcomp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Hello,

    I have three laptops connected to the wireless network. One with xp, one with Vista Home and the third with Vista Business. All with DHCP enabled. All connected to the same network.

    All three laptops were able to connect to the wireless connection a few weeks ago. Now the laptop Vista Business can not access internet. I see the network, but it goes to "Identifying" stage and ends up having local access only with the message "Unidentified network". I doubt anything was changed on the network side, so I'm blaming the laptop itself. I tried the following things:
    From this thread
    Code:
    netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled
    
    and I also have reset the winsock and ip stacks, something along the following lines (I forgot exactly what were the commands)
    Code:
    netsh winsock reset global
    netsh int ipv4 reset global
    netsh int ipv6 reset global
    
    It did not change anything.

    Wirless adapter for the computer in question has description "Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection". I do not have access to the wireless router.

    The question is how can I make Vista Business work with the wireless network again?

    I did have similar problems in other places, when I can see networks but get local access only, while other laptops with XP running on them can connect without problems.

    Thanks.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Remove any stored wireless profiles and do a new connection and enter any encryption keys. Try to connect, and I'd like to see this.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. sjcomp

    sjcomp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Here it is:

    Code:
    Windows IP Configuration
    
       Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop
       Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . : 
       Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
       IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
       WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-D2-D1-B5-08
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.92.173(Preferred) 
       Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
       Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 
       NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 PL Network Connection
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-24-2F-70-57
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{96F540E3-21F4-4A0B-9B61-4929A90E5BA9}
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{625F0230-BB54-4D76-AB24-8331A7FCBD32}
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
    
       Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
       Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : 
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{625F0230-BB54-4D76-AB24-8331A7FCBD32}
       Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
       DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
       Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    
    
    Thanks.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Changes that may help to increase the compatibility of Vista with older networking devices:



    Disable the IP Helper service:

    1. Hold the Windows key and type R, enter "services.msc" (without the quotes) and press Enter
    2. Scroll down to the IP Helper service, right click on it and select Properties
    3. In the dropdown box that says "Automatic" or "Manual", set it to Disabled and then click on "Apply"
    4. Then click on "Stop" to stop the service from running in the current session
    5. Click OK to exit the dialog



    Disable IPv6:

    1. Hold the Windows key and type R, enter "ncpa.cpl" (without the quotes) and press Enter
    2. Right click on each network connection and select "Properties"
    3. Remove the checkmark from the box next to "Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP/IPv6)
    4. Click OK to exit the dialog

    NOTE: You should do this for each network connection.



    Disable the DHCP Broadcast Flag:

    Link: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/928233
    1. Hold the Windows key and type R, enter regedit and press Enter.
    2. Locate and then click the following registry subkey:
    3. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\{GUID}
    4. In this registry path, click the (GUID) subkey to be updated.
    5. If the key DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag does not exist, use the Edit menu, point to New, and then click DWORD (32-bit) Value. In the New Value #1 box, type DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag, and then press ENTER. If the key exists, skip this step.
    6. Right-click DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag, and then click Modify.
    7. In the Value data box, type 0, and then click OK.
    8. Close Registry Editor.
    NOTE: You should do this for each and every GUID subkey.
    NOTE2: (GUID) is a mnemonic for the individual subkeys, the actual text "GUID" does not appaer.




    The only program I'm aware of that currently relies on IPv6 is the new Windows Meeting Space. The first 2 changes will cause that program not to work - but will leave all of your normal (IPv4) connections unaffected. If it causes problems that you can't overcome, simply revert back to the original settings.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,842
    First Name:
    Terry
    Since you could connect wirelessly in the past, before doing any of the above I suggest that you disable encryption on the router and try to connect that way. If successful you should be able to re-enable encryption and reconnect.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Terry,
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,842
    First Name:
    Terry
    Dang! I remember seeing that yesterday, but missed it today. Thanks, John.

    I think somebody better make friends with whoever does have access to it. :)
     
  8. sjcomp

    sjcomp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks JohnWill. I think I've seen this in the other thread, so I tried it as well and it did not change anything.

    The networks are unsecure, so there is no encription going on.
    btw, this is the resulst of ipconfig from xp computer (the one I use to access internet right now):
    Code:
    Windows IP Configuration
    
            Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LaptopXP
            Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
            Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
            IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
            WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
            DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
    
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    
            Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
            Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
            Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-09-6B-3F-16-C0
    
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    
            Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
            Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter
            Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-23-69-F2-2D
            Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
            Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
            IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.102
            Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
            Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
            DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
            DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.71.226
                                                68.87.73.242
            Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 03, 2008 9:32:14 AM
            Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, March 04, 2008 9:32:14 AM
    Thanks.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,842
    First Name:
    Terry
    Start - services.msc (type "services.msc" in the search box at the bottom after clicking on the Start orb). In the resulting window make sure the DHCP Client service has Status of Started.

    You may have a 3rd party firewall (internet security) that got misconfigured and is now blocking all access, including getting a dynamic IP configuration.
     
  10. sjcomp

    sjcomp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    DHCP is enabled and service is running. I have McAfee running (that would be the closest thing to the 3d party firewall I have), but it does not seem to influence the probelm. When I disable it, nothing changes. I disabled windows firewall as well, though it did not help either.

    Anything else I can try?

    Thanks.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,842
    First Name:
    Terry
    If McAfee is or includes the firewall uninstall or properly configure it. 'Disable' or 'turn off' only works sometimes.
     
  12. sjcomp

    sjcomp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    I've uninstalled McAfee, and restrated the computer. Did not solve the problem. Other suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  13. nerdincolorado

    nerdincolorado

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Did this happen when you installed AIM?

    Matt
     
  14. sjcomp

    sjcomp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Matt, no I did not install AIM. I had similar problem with other networks for a year now :( Which makes me think that it's not due to a specific application, or if it is, the application always has been on my laptop then. I never bothered trying to figure out why I can connect to some networksi in some places and not others (while xp laptop can). But now I'm determined to figure it out :)

    Thanks.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,842
    First Name:
    Terry
    One thing we maybe haven't tried yet is to make sure you have the latest driver for that Intel adapter from your laptop manufacturer's web site.

    When people still have trouble on XP with an Intel adapter I suggest trying the Intel Proset utility to manage it instead of the built-in Windows one. I don't know if that is appropriate here; don't know if Intel provides a Vista version, plus the Vista utility (in my opinion) works far better than the XP one.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/689120

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice