1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista - No Internet, Can't ping anything, can't get DHCP address

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by computertechie, Jul 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. computertechie

    computertechie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Hello, I'm trying to sort out an Acer Aspire 5050 laptop with Vista Home Basic (not too impressed with Vista so far).

    The Internet was working ok for the end-user then stopped working for no reason.

    I cannot ping external, internal or loopback addresses. Absolutely nothing, even when I have set it to a fixed IP address I still can't ping anything, even the loopback. A ping test gives a General failure response.

    Also, it won't pick up a dynamic IP address. It only gets an autoconfig 169. address.

    Any ideas anyone????
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Wired, wireless, what?

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. computertechie

    computertechie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    I should have added, I cannot connect via the wired or wireless connection. Do an ipconfig and you can only pick up a 169. address. Give it a static IP and you still can't connect.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I'm still waiting to see the output I asked for.
     
  5. lymponus

    lymponus

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    I think to get to the proper command prompt in Vista it's Start Orb-->All Programs-->Accessories-->right click on Command Prompt-->choose Administrator mode. At least if you try to do an ipconfig/release ipconfig/renew you have to have administrator privileges in Vista.
     
  6. computertechie

    computertechie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Thanks for your response lymponus. I've already tried that more than once in Admin mode.

    It simply won't pick up a dynamic address.

    I've tried the diagnose option many times now.

    I've tried using the netsh int ip reset command to see if that fixed anything. No luck.

    I plugged my laptop into the same port and that was fine.
     
  7. crimsonnblue

    crimsonnblue

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Are there any addresses available from you DHCP scope???
     
  8. computertechie

    computertechie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Here's screenshot of ipconfig and ping when laptop is set to DHCP

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Tom-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5005G Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-7D-27-55-81
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.43.39(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
    NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-C7-D2-E8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.236.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{221F9CFE-C60B-47BD-9502-AEBA5BFAC
    C64}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.236.3%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{1D2960FD-32E0-43E4-9A10-B9AC7DF79
    27F}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.43.39%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 127.0.0.1

    Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    General failure.
    General failure.
    General failure.
    General failure.

    Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  9. computertechie

    computertechie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    I change the wired adapter to a static IP and here's the result. If I was to disable the wireless connector it makes no difference.

    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Tom-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5005G Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-7D-27-55-81
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.43.39(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
    NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-C7-D2-E8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.75(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{221F9CFE-C60B-47BD-9502-AEBA5BFAC
    C64}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.75%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{1D2960FD-32E0-43E4-9A10-B9AC7DF79
    27F}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:169.254.43.39%11(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    General failure.
    General failure.
    General failure.
    General failure.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Windows\system32>ping 127.0.0.1

    Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

    General failure.
    General failure.
    General failure.
    General failure.

    Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  10. computertechie

    computertechie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Yes, there are available addresses from our DHCP range. We've just plugged a brand new Windows Vista PC into the network and that picked up an address.
     
  11. crimsonnblue

    crimsonnblue

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Try restarting the dhcp client service. Also another way to figure out wether or not this is a server issue or a desktop issue is to try pulgging it in to another network.
     
  12. computertechie

    computertechie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    I've tried the DHCP service restart 2 or 3 times already. Just done it again. No luck.

    There's no server on this network, it's just a Netgear router with a DHCP range so we can update computers for customers.

    It stopped working on the customers home network.
     
  13. computertechie

    computertechie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    I've also plugged it into our corporate network, makes no difference.
     
  14. computertechie

    computertechie Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    There must be some clever person out there who has a solution :)

    I've also removed the adapters from Device Manager, which were automatically re-installed.

    I've disabled the Windows firewall and the Symantec security software.

    I've given it a static IP address again and in Network Connections it has changed to Netgear underneath the Local Area Connection, so it must be seeing our router by some means. Try and ping the router or the loopback and you get a General failure message.
     
  15. downtime

    downtime

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Network discovery is turned on?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/594020