Vista not connecting to my home's wifi?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Imola Ghost

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
84
I've got a linksys wifi router and I can connect to it with my Vista machine only when I'm broadcasting. But when I turn off broadcasting and go in a setup the connection manually it will not connect.

What's a little weird is that when the broadcasting is turned off I can connect fine to it with my Apple Ipone. But my laptop just won't connect.

So right now I have broadcasting turned on so I can see the router.

Any ideas?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Explain what "broadcasting" we're talking about. Is this the broadcast bit in the IP header?
 

Imola Ghost

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
84
Oh!

When I'm in the setup menu of the router there's a setting to "broadcast" the wifi signal out to the public or keep it hidden.

I'm using WPA2 Personal for security.
 

Imola Ghost

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
84
Thanks, that was a good read. I've always thought that if keeping my SSID hidden then it would make it evem more secure.

One more question:


I've got a fairly common Linsys WRT54G Version 3 router. Is there a unbiased "how to" setup manual for wireless security? I'm a very basic user and learning all the time. I've been using WEP for several years until I recently found out that WEP was no good and started using WPA2 Personal. I've always wondered about all the other sercurity settings in the setup menu for the router.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,623
What are the "other security settings"? If they are in that list JohnWill linked to they are "security" only if you have some special situation in which you cannot use encryption.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Unbiased "how to"? Does such a think exist? :D

I'm "biased" into making the network secure and easy to use, but I don't think that's a bad thing. ;) If you're using WPA2 and you've selected a long and random key, you are very secure. By "long and random", I'm talking about 20 characters or more of random numbers and letters. You can throw a few capitals in too, just to make it harder. :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top