1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista Notebook Freezes

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Roadie, Jan 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Roadie

Roadie Thread Starter

My notebook running Windows Vista Home Premium has started to freeze up and act strangely. I'm a novice to intermediate computer user so I've got some questions. I connect to the internet on this system via a wireless router in another room. Signal strength is excellent. In the past I've had a problem with the wireless connection locking up. The connection would stop responding and there would be an exclamation triangle icon over the network icon on the system tray (by the clock). I would have to reboot the computer at which time I would get a blue screen with the title : DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE, collecting information for crash dump.

Recently this behavior has stopped and is now replaced by the whole system freezing. Pressing control alt delete to try to bring up the task manager has no effect because the hard drive activity light is lit solidly and I'm supposing windows is too overloaded to accept a new task. I've also noticed that if I stay off line, then the system will act normally, but if I use a browser or check e-mail with my Thunderbird install, then the lockup process begins.

There's not a lot of RAM on this system. 1GB of Ram. At times during these lockups I have managed to bring the task manager up and it shows about 65-70% of Physical Memory being used, with 76 processes up and running.