Vista OEM Home Premium - Internet problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DomerJen

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2007
Messages
3
My husband built a new computer for us (first time) and we installed Vista Home Premium 64bit (OEM) yesterday. It will not connect to the internet. He has tried connecting just through the modem, as well as through our router (Linksys WRT54G) with an ethernet cable. No connection either way, but the IP address is showing 192. etc...

Vista says "unidentified network" and "access; local only"

Has anyone had this problem? We were on the phone w/ Comcast for an hour last night, and we don't think it's a problem with them.

Any help is greatly appreciated - we're at our wits end, since we have no other support options.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
79
You will need the 64 bit drive for the modem and it sounds like your nic card needs a new 64 bit driver ( big problem with 64 bit is that the number of functioning drivers are limited your cable company will not have the 64 driver for the usb modem yet)

not sure what is available on the 64 bit drivers yet

good luck
 

DomerJen

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2007
Messages
3
so until comcast gets a 64bit driver for their modem, we're SOL? perhaps we should exchange the vista 64bit for the 32bit?
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
79
The 32 Bit Version is also on the install disk comes with both ( would wait until more drivers are availible for 64bit

Good luck
 

DomerJen

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 4, 2007
Messages
3
Maybe that is just with the full version? Ours (OEM) did not come w/ the 32bit. :(
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
79
Try going into the control panel and click on the network and sharing center make sure the network discovery is on if everything is ok try using the set up a network connection wizard

( make sure the modem is connected to the linksys and you run a cable from the router to the machine)

good luck
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
79
You can also go into the diagnose and repair section ( this will look like the old network connection in xp and try repairing the connection.)


Hope this all helps good luck

m
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2007
Messages
2
I have also had a similar problem, the connection to my router is working correctly and I can access my home network but I cannot connect to the internet. I have tried my Isp for help, but they couldnt solve it.

My problem didnt start immediately after I installed Vista, it connected fine for about 24 hours then stopped and work after that.

I am using windows Vista 64 bit and a Netgear DG834G. There were some suggestions (somewhere on google) that the Windows Vista Performance update 1.0 may have caused problems with internet connections. I havent tried to remove this as of yet, I'm not sure if it even installed when I was briefly online but this may be one solution.
 

mrss

Guest
Joined
Jun 13, 2007
Messages
722
You don't need a cable modem driver if you're connected to the WRT54G via ethernet.

Can you get the setup screen on the router? I have the same router and the address is http://192.168.1.1

If you can, then the LAN interface in your new PC is working. I would think it is or you wouldn't have the IP 192.168.1.xxx assigned to your new PC. Did you get that number via ipconfig?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top