Vista OEM vs. Vista Retail

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TheFlash24

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
63
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
46
The Retail one is more expensive because it comes with the 32bit and 64bit copies.. and you can choose for urself to which one to install..

the OEM one comes either 32bit or the 64bit, but u cant have both copies. thats why it's more cheaper then the Retail.

and btw if you by any chance buy the Retail one u can send me the 64bit copy :p
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
1,005
Oem's come with no support from Microsoft and can not be transferred to anther computer. The license lives and dies with the first computer it is installed on.

Retail's on the other hand come with Microsoft's support and are not tied to one computer. it can be transferred to another computer.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
1,005
TheFlash24 said:
So if i buy the reatail i'll have unlimited # of licenses?
No, you'll only be licensed for one computer. But if say that computer were to die you could transfer the license to another computer where as an oem copy is not transferable and would die with the original computer it was installed on.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Not quite. What Rick means is that you can install the retail version on one PC, then if you decide later to move it to another PC, you can delete it from the first PC and install it on another. As many times as you want so long as it is install on only one PC at a time.

The license agreement for OEM says you can install it one one PC, and it can never be moved to another.
 

TheFlash24

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
63
Ok i got ya! Well im going to maybe get a copy of retail but i just may wait until SP1 comes out.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
2,091
Actually if you want to run more than 2 computers, you'll need to buy Volume License Key.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top