Vista or 7?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Fritz911

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
90
My new employer has just issued me with a lappy with 7 pre-loaded.

I am used to working with Vista, and the stuff on 7 is very confusing.

Can I change the new tool to Vista without losing 7? (I dont own the tool and dont want to break it).

What needs changing. Me or the operating system?

Any advice much appreciated.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Can I change the new tool to Vista without losing 7?
Any way you can elaborate on this? I'm a bit confused.

You could partition the harddrive and dual-boot (choose which partition you want to use, Windows 7 or Vista). But you would have to install the programs and everything else onto that partition as well.

I recommend sticking with Windows 7, but if it is a big deal, Windows Vista can be installed. But Windows 7 is definitely a better operating system that Windows Vista in terms of resource usage, solidarity, and other areas as well.

Hopefully after some more information from you we'll be able to help further.

--------------------------------------------

And as a bit of general information, can you provide the make and model of the laptop?
 

Fritz911

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
90
Its an Acer Aspire 5742.
My problem is basically that I am used to working with Vista and 7 looks totally alien to me when trying to do everyday stuff like creating new folders and saving documents, pics etc.

Is it worth my while spending a weekend getting my head round 7, or should I convert the system to Vista?

Thanks for your advice.
 

Fritz911

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2006
Messages
90
Also, the new lappy has Microsoft Project installed,(Very Expensive), and I daren,t feck it up.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2008
Messages
2,637
hiya,a weekend getting used to windows 7 will be worth it,as you will soon discover how bad vista was,(oh and how good xp is)
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
255
From my personal experience, using Windows 7 has been much easier to use than Vista. Microsoft has a tutorial video that's less than six minutes that you can check out: http://windows.microsoft.com/windows-7-get-started

But like I said, I've found it to be much easier to navigate through than Vista and other iterations of Windows.

-- Ryan
Windows Outreach Team
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2005
Messages
116
second what has already been said. Spend the weekend getting used to 7, you'll soon find out that in many ways it's not that different to Vista, but it does do things a lot better.(y)
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Yeah, if it's really just a matter of you not liking the look of Windows 7, take the weekend to get to know your way around. It really isn't all that hard, only a few changes here and there compared to Vista.
 

fairnooks

Banned
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
5,251
Yes, Vista isn't going to run as well as 7 on a lappy either so its better to cuddle up to 7. I think Vista is on the endangered species list at the very least.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
My problem is basically that I am used to working with Vista and 7 looks totally alien to me when trying to do everyday stuff like creating new folders and saving documents, pics etc.
Really? Those 3 things you mention are completely the same unless maybe you7 need a different viewer for pictures, but creating new folders and saving documents hasn't changed in Windows since Windows 95 that I am aware of. Stick it out as everyone is saying, Windows 7 is much more stable.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,625
What needs changing. Me or the operating system?
Me! O...:eek: I mean You... Win7 has many improvements over Vista. Take the time, get used to it, it'll be worth your time.
 

aka Brett

Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
16,918
7 IMO is easier to get around in than Vista
What is it you are having trouble doing?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top