1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista random shut down

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by tekie327, Mar 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tekie327

    tekie327 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    My computer, a HP a6030n with Vista home premium 32 bit OS has been shuting down randomly in the last couple of days. My Tend Micro Antivirus shows no virus and just did a memory check and no errors. I have not had this happen while on the computer so not sure if there is a error report or not. Happened twice today. Let me know what you need and I will get it if possible. All help will be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. PrivatePC

    PrivatePC

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    816
    check to see if fans are working properly
     
  3. vnvnvn2000

    vnvnvn2000

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    what are you running
    video card
    cpu
    m/board
    ram
    power supply
    brand
    wattage

    any error message
    check your tempretures and voltages in the bios and post them
     
  4. tekie327

    tekie327 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Fans appaer to be working fine.
    what are you running--Vista Home Premium
    video card--NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
    cpu--AMD athalon 62 x2 dual core 4800+
    m/board--?
    ram--2GB
    power supply--?
    brand-- HP PAvilion a6030n
    wattage--?

    Not sure how to find ?'s. Thanks for the help
     
  5. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    hi the problem could be your power supply try taking the side of the case and see if you can read the label or at least get the wattage
     
  6. tekie327

    tekie327 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Sorry have not had time to pull off case and check power supply yet but have set up event logs and looks like I have to many process's running. Took a look at them not sure what some are and here are some examples of the event log.
    ntoskrnl.exe is doing excessive disk activity
    many processes are using to much memory
    rundll32.exe is doing excessive disk activity
    explorer.exe is doing excessive disk activity
    ntoskrnl.exe is doing excessive disk activity
    photoscreensaver.scr is doing excessive disk activity
    I have run spysweeper and trend antivirus over night with nothing.
    I will look at the power supply now and re-post later.

    Thanks
     
  7. tekie327

    tekie327 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Ok took the side off the case and here is what i found. 3 fans all running, the power supply is HIPRO and the model number is D3057F3R. I did not write down the wattage as there were 3 of 4 different ratings and i was not sure which one was relevant, Case was relatively clean but did vac out the dust as best I could. Let me know what is next. Oh almost forgot, right now i have 2 App running IE7 and sysconfig and have 76 processes CPU is bouncing between 5 and 25% and memory is 36%.
     
  8. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    hi your power supply is 300watts do you have a graphics card or other hardware ie tv card
     
  9. tekie327

    tekie327 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    NVIDIA GForce 6150SE nForce 430
     
  10. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    hi it is quite likely the power supply is not able to supply enough power and is being over taxed and shutting down
     
  11. Cdn XxRRODxX

    Cdn XxRRODxX

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    There have been RARE accounts where the firewall/anti-virus will not report any problems, yet shut down the computer because of a "viscious attack." This has happened to me with an old version of McAffe, I just shut off the firewall and it was all good.:D
     
  12. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,250
    As a test, boot to safe mode.

    If the problem happens in safe mode, it can be caused by ONLY;
    1. hardware;
    2. malware;
    3. corrupt Windows OS:
    4. corrupt registry.

    I would be on joeten's # 10 analysis.

    Could be your fans, CPU specifically, is not spinning enough to cool the CPU.

    Is your NVIDIA GForce 6150SE nForce 430 standard or add on? If add on, joeten's probability increases to > 95%.

    You are probably using an add in video card, because your PC, per HP has a video chip built into the motherboard.
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...37&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&product=3377275

    Bookmark this page.
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product?product=3377275&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&lang=en&cc=us

    Antec True Power power supply.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-radeon-power,2122.html

    RF123
     
  13. tekie327

    tekie327 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    So do I replace the power supply? and also is there an easy way to check out the proccesses that are running or is 73-77 processes normal. I set up an event log and a lot of the warnings are from to many processes.Like right now I have IE running and task manager and there are 77 processes, CPU usage is at 6-16% and Physical Memory is at 54%. Is this normal?
    Thanks for everyone help.
     
  14. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    hi at this time i have 91 processes and 58% memory usage so it is not bad cpu anywhere between 0% to 17% a psu is not to costly so an upgrade is only to the good in the longrun
     
  15. tekie327

    tekie327 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Suggestions on a power supply. Also I did an driver upgrade on the NIVIDIA video card, what happens to the old driver? is it still on my hard drive? If so how do I find it and should I delete it?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/810089