1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

vista service pack1 slipstream installation

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by hennigsdorf, May 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hennigsdorf

    hennigsdorf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    hi there!
    i would like to know,when i do a slipstream installation of vista service pack 1 will it delete all my programms and games on my computer?
    please let me know.
    thanks
    hennigsdorf
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,233
    First Name:
    David
    Yes, unless you go through the repair option.
     
  3. hennigsdorf

    hennigsdorf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    ok,how can i do that?
    thanks
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,233
    First Name:
    David
    The slipstream is used to do a system rebuild and then one will NOT have to install the SP.
    If you have not installed SP1 all you need to do use the Windows Update to get it installed.

    Do you really want to do a clean install or what is it that you are really trying to do?
     
  5. hennigsdorf

    hennigsdorf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    i tried it 4 times already,failed always.
    thats why i want to try the slipstream installation.
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,233
    First Name:
    David
    Then your machine has a driver that is NOT compliant, you need to check the OEM of the machine and see what is needed.
     
  7. hennigsdorf

    hennigsdorf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    how can i find it out,all drivers are up to date.
     
  8. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,233
    First Name:
    David
    Check with OEM of the machine.
    What is the make and model of this machine?
     
  9. hennigsdorf

    hennigsdorf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    quad 6600 3.0 ghz
    xfx nforce 680 il
    2 gig ballistix tracer 6400 mhz
    2 xfx 8800 gt sli
    lg dvd burner
    tagan 800 watt power supply
    vista 64 ultimate
     
  10. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,233
    First Name:
    David
    Is this a home built machine?
    If so, you will need to go to the website of ALL device OEMs, including motherboard and check with them.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/716875

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice