1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Vista won't load and blue screen comes up.

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by stanlyden, Jun 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stanlyden

    stanlyden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    My laptop loads at the beginning (where it has a progress bar scanning from left to right) then immediately after that a black screen comes on briefly then a blue screen quickly flashes and the system keeps resetting itself.

    I have tried to put the Vista disk in to try and repair it, but it says it cannot automatically repair it. When I select System Restore through this way aswell it says that it has successfully restored the compute, however when it restarts to load up again it crashes again at the same part.

    Any help would be appreciated and thanks in advance! :)

    Btw, it's currently running on an Inspiron 1520 with Vista Home Premium.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. tacoman359

    tacoman359

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    868
    Is it a BSOD or just a blank blue screen? If it's a BSOD, can you post the error number if you can manage to see it?
     
  4. stanlyden

    stanlyden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    I've had the system reset itelf so many times now, but the blue screen only comes on for a split second and I can't see all of the information. I've managed to see the folllowing whilst it has been resseting itself (almost 45 times now lol):

    STOP: C0000145 {Application Error}
    The Application failed to finalize properly (0XC000000006) Click OK to terminate.

    I hope these are correct codes.

    Thanks again :)
     
  5. ebrahim

    ebrahim

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Hi,

    Without looking at your error message, I will say that I had a similar problem on my laptop. The windows bar would come up scanning left to right, then quick blue screen and restart. Also system restore did not work for me.

    My problem was that of the hard drive and AHCI/IDE settings. Other people had similar problems and Microsoft posted a bulletin http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976 .

    What you can try to do is to go into your BIOS and find the Hard Drive setting which enabale AHCI or one which enables IDE and change around the setting and see what happens.

    However, now that you mention the error, I never knew that a Blue Screen said "Click Ok to terminate" ( i hardly read em anyway).

    Anyway, I hope ur problem gets solved
     
  6. stanlyden

    stanlyden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks for that, but the link you provided does not seem to work??
     
  7. stanlyden

    stanlyden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    I forgot to mention that I tried running the memory diagnostic utility when "trying to repair" and it had a problem aswell-

    Error code 0142
    Msg: Error Code 2000-0142
    Unit 1: Drive Self Test Failed
    Status byte= 70

    I don't know what this means, but my laptop started beeping and making funny noises when this came up and it said that this information might be useful for a Dell specialist to help rectify the system?

    Thanks again!
     
  8. ebrahim

    ebrahim

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Well then, it sounds like you need to get on the phone with Dell tech support to get them to send you some new RAM. If you still have your system under warranty then do this ASAP.

    If not then ..... This sounds like a memory error. So open up the memory slot and see how many ram sticks you got. If you got two, then try to boot with one and see if it works, interchange if the error occurs. If you got only one, try putting it in the next slot. Remember PC must be off when replacing RAM . check this out http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/ins1520/en/sm/memory.htm#wp1180190


    As for the link, it works for me.

    Additionally, you may check these article by Dell in terms of Vista and Blue screening at startup http://support.dell.com/support/top...d=33428502887DCFF7E040A68F5B2835B9&l=en&s=gen
    or this article
    http://support.dell.com/support/top...d=32553945E6BD42A2E040A68F5B285E41&l=en&s=gen

    Hope this helps.
     
  9. stanlyden

    stanlyden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    I have tried everything in all the links provided above (thanks by the way) however none of them seem to work. What makes it even worse is that I bought this off Ebay late last year and I don't know if I still have any warranty left. I was reading somewhere amongst the forums I googled that you could put the hard drive number in at the manufacturer's website to see how much warranty is left.... Does anybody know how to do this and where I would be able to locate the number on this hard drive? I.e. What does the hard drive look like? Average price to have the hard drive replaced if the warranty is no longer valid?
     
  10. tacoman359

    tacoman359

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    868
    Download Memtest86+ and burn it to a CD. Go into your BIOS and change your boot order to CD first, then put the CD in and reboot. It should automatically boot off the CD. Let it scan, and if it finds any errors then at least one stick of RAM is bad. You'll have to take your RAM modules out so there is only one in at a time to find out which module is causing it.

    If it finds no errors, it isn't your RAM.
     
  11. stanlyden

    stanlyden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    When I try to boot from the cd it only comes up with the same screen showing whether to load in safe mode, safe mode with networking, last known good, start windows normally, etc. I've burnt these core files off twice on different cds and it still reacts the same.
     
  12. stanlyden

    stanlyden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    I've taken out the ram, swapped them around and even loaded with just the one in the slot (done with both rams). This unfortunately didn't work either. Thanks for that advice anyway Ebrahim :)
     
  13. stanlyden

    stanlyden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Also, from what I have been looking around on the forums, is it expensive to purchase a new hard drive for this laptop and is anybody aware of a step by step guide to installing it?

    Is there any possibility of retaining any of the current data on the laptop without losing it all?

    Cheers!
     
  14. tacoman359

    tacoman359

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    868
    I doubt your hard drive is bad. If it really has anything to do with your hard drive, you can probably just reformat.

    You need to go into the BIOS to change the boot order. On Dell computers, it's usually F2, although you may be able to press F12 and immediately access the boot order rather than going into the BIOS and finding it.

    Have you tried booting in safe mode?
     
  15. stanlyden

    stanlyden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Yes, I have tried booting in Safe Mode quite a few times. Is there another way around reformatting it? I have stacks of work and uni stuff on this laptop I need still. I've also attempted to load it from the BIOS and by pressing F12, neither work. Cheers!
     
  16. stanlyden

    stanlyden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Does it have to boot from the 2 files, Memtest.img and BOOT, like after you unwrap it. Or does it require to be booted from the folder that they are contained in? Or is it the BOOT only that needs to be burnt to CD? Sorry to be such a silly question!
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/725602