Vista XP networking

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

canadateg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
10
hey, i set up my home network between my vista laptop(wireless) and my xp desktop(wired).
While i set it up, my laptop was plugged into an ethernet cable that goes to the router and it was also connected to the wireless from the same router. my xp desktop was connected via ethernet to the same router. now, after i set up my network i unplugged the ethernet from my laptop and now i cant access my network, nor can i see the other computer when i look at my network map. how do i get it so that i can access my home network while my laptop is on wireless?

thanks
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,164
Please show for both PCs ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following commands:

nbtstat -n

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

canadateg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
10
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Mitch>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

Wireless Network Connection:
Node IpAddress: [71.17.32.67] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
LAPTOP <00> UNIQUE Registered
HYMERS <00> GROUP Registered
LAPTOP <20> UNIQUE Registered
HYMERS <1E> GROUP Registered
HYMERS <1D> UNIQUE Registered
..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

C:\Users\Mitch>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8192E Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI
-E NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-5F-9C-3E-A1
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fd24:8d59:abca:d5dd%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 71.17.32.67(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : September-09-09 3:04:03 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : September-09-09 3:14:03 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 71.17.32.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234889823
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-BC-03-CE-00-22-5F-9C-3E-A1

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102/8103 Family PCI-E FE NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-5A-0C-6C-FB
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.gateway.2wire.net
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{F2C88F52-E9B0-43ED-8BD6-04D3A189D
74E}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:4711:2043::4711:2043(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:62:89d:b8ee:dfbc(Preferr
ed)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::62:89d:b8ee:dfbc%12(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Mitch>


*****note that BOTH computers currently have internet access, but after i disconnect my ethernet cable on my laptop to use wireless i CANT see my desktop on my network/nor can i wirelessly print to my printer on my desktop.

ill post the desktop results next
 

canadateg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
10
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Terry>nbtstat -n

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.64] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
DESKTOP <00> UNIQUE Registered
DESKTOP <20> UNIQUE Registered
HYMERS <00> GROUP Registered
HYMERS <1E> GROUP Registered
HYMERS <1D> UNIQUE Registered
..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

C:\Documents and Settings\Terry>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DESKTOP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 M Network Connectio
n
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-07-E9-EE-6A-52
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, September 09, 2009 4:39:1
2 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, September 10, 2009 4:39:12
AM

C:\Documents and Settings\Terry>


******settings for desktop running XP sp3
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,164
All I can tell you is what is wrong with that picture painted by the ipconfig /all outputs. Perhaps the problem is that your wireless is connected to a neighbor's network or maybe you have a higher end router that allows multiple LANs (say, one ethernet and a different one wireless). But even that doesn't completely explain the results (doesn't explain the public IP).

The ethernet connection looks perfectly normal and typical.

The wireless connection shows the same Dhcp server (192.168.1.254) BUT a public IP address and a lease time of only 10 minutes. I have yet to see a router give a lease time of less than 30 minutes, and the ethernet connection is getting a much more typical day lease.
 

canadateg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
10
well, that doesnt make sense because im connected to my router's wireless, and im on the same network as the ethernet so what changes after i disconnect my ethernet cord. does anyone know how to fix this?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,164
What's the brand and model of your router? And of your modem?
 

canadateg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
10
my router is a 2wire 2700-hg and my network adapter is a realtek wireless adapter
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
225
"that doesnt make sense because im connected to my router's wireless..."

I thought the problem was that you could NOT connect to your wireless:confused:

You said at the beginning that you were connected to both wired and wireless - are you sure that in fact both were working under those circumstances?
 

canadateg

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2009
Messages
10
ok, my laptop automatically connects to my routers wireless which SSID is 2WIRE005, at the time i set up my network i was connected to both my wireless and through an ethernet cable that also goes directly to my router. what i think happened was that my home network (HOMENETWORK) was created using my ethernet connection because when i disconnect my ethernet cord, my home network with my printer and desktop dissappear. how do i get it so that my laptop will still connect to the local network with the printer and when its wireless. it will only show the printer and desktop when it has ethernet.

***keep in mind that when i disconnect my ethernet, im still connected to 2WIRE005 and thus, the internet
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,164
I trust this manual is correct, or at least reasonably close, for your router?

I see on page 29 that if "Bridge Network" is enabled your public IP can be passed through to a computer. That probably explains how your wireless connection in post # 5 has your public IP address.

I can only guess that your ISP only allows you the typical one public IP address, and hence the router is sufficiently advanced to then assign other devices private IP addresses and also allow them to have internet access.

Do you have Bridge Network enabled? If so, why?????
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
5
I have a similar setup with XP desktops and a Vista Laptop. One thing I noticed in your notes is that you had the Wireless attached at the same time you were connected via a LAN cable - not usually a good idea. I noticed the ip address, subnet mask and default gateway look 'funny'.
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 71.17.32.67(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 71.17.32.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
But your DHCP server looks ok.
For the 2701HG-B the IP address of any computer connected should be in the range of 192.168.1.64 to 192.168.1.113 (50 IP address starting at 64). This is common with the 2701HG-B.

First have a look at the router by opening your browser and typing in 192.168.1.254 in the address line. You will be presented with either a log in screen to log into the router or the first screen of the router. If you get the log in screen then login and look at the "Home Network" by clicking on the Home Network Icon. You should see all computers etc that are connected to the router. If you can't see your laptop or you can't open the router configuration then you really are not part of that network. Note that if you can't get to the router from the laptop then try it from the desktop.

Also if you can get to the router management screens you can check to see if it is in bridge mode. There are some very good articles on the net on how to put the 2701 into bridge mode and you can compare your setups with those shown in the articles BUT make sure you don't modify any of your settings in the router because from what you show for the desktop, it does not look like you are in Bridge mode because if you were bridged then your desktop would not have the 192.168.1.64 IP but it would be some public IP as well.

Log off your router and close your browser when you are finished exploring the router screens. There is a 'loggoff' link on most if not all of the router screens that logs you out of the router.

What I can suggest is that you get rid of the wireless network connection and build a new one.

To do this on your laptop go to Control Panel > Manage Wirelss Networks. you should see a profile there that is your wireless profile for the 2701. It may be the only profile you have. Highlight it and click remove.

Next click the Add and set up your wireless connection.

Go back and run ipconfig/all and see if your IP address and Subnet mask and default gateway are now:

IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.XXX (where XXX is any number between 64 and 113)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254


You should now be able to see the computers on your home network as long as you are not blocking with firewalls (such as Norton Internet Security).
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
225
In simple terms, somehow you seem to have got your wireless and wired adaptors into completely different IP sub-nets. Consequently when you are working on wireless you will not be able to see any of the devices on the sub-net used by the wired connection.

If you delete and recreate the wireless connection as previously suggested (doing it WITHOUT the wired connection connected) then hopefully this will solve the problem.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top