1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

visual C++ wireless simulation program

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by yamutha, Jan 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yamutha

yamutha Thread Starter

hi there this is my first time on the forums and am in need of some guidence if there is any available. I am currently starting a project where i am to design an application, which simulates a wireless network. I do have programming skills but these havnt been in use for some years now :(.

Basically i need to create an application, which has a 2D birds-eye view of an office block, outlining objects such as corridors and external rooms etc. The user should be allowed to place wireless nodes within the office plan (approximately 7), which i would like to be dragged from a selection menu, onto the office floor.

I need assistence as to how this can be performed using visual C++, because the application should also work out if one node can communicate with another node based upon the distance between the two.

How can i implement into the program, a calculation based upon the distance between the nodes, within this office block layout?. Any information at all would be appreciated.

Also is it possible for me to create an interface in VB and then to implement this into visual c++ code, or even still do you believe it would be easier to make the full application in visual basic?

your guidence and comment will be much appreciated. thanks.

2. jiml8

jiml8 Guest