VLAN questions

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sabrefreak

I'm setting up a VLAN (I've never done one before) in my office to prevent internet misuse and also to allow for better network resource management. We came up with 3 groups (each on its own switch):
VLAN 1 - no internet, no email (example)
VLAN 2 - no internet (example)
VLAN 3 - no restrictions
All VLAN's have to be able to see the server all the time, as well as all the network printers (plugged into the switches).

Currently, the "server" is actually a NAS which has worked beautifully for us (a Buffalo TeraStation). The switches in question are (2) D-Link DGS-1024D gigabits and (1) D-Link DES-1024D 10/100.
Each switch is connected to the D-Link DIR-825 Xtreme N Router (I'm not using the wireless portion of it; I have a Wireless AP downstream which works better).

I'm not attached to the hardware so if it has to be changed LMK.

So, my questions are:
1. How can I make sure that everyone sees the Buffalo?
2. Since all the literature I can find on VLAN is a decade old, do I still need secondary software or is it built into a good router?
3. Anything else, please let me know.

Thanks much, in advance

I don't get the feeling you are clear what a vlan is.

If I look at your switch here
http://www.retrevo.com/search?q=D-link+DGS-1024D&rt=sp
there is no mention of vlan support.

If I look at your router here
ftp://ftp10.dlink.com/pdfs/products/DIR-825/DIR-825_ds.pdf
there is no vlan support either. It does have VPN support but vpn and vlan are not the same.

Otherwise what you want to do is easy.
vlan1 don't include the port connecting to the gateway
vlan2 don't include the port connecting to the gateway and mail server
vlan3 includes all ports except those in vlans 1 and 2

All vlans connect to the port the Buffalo is connected to.

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor