VLAN, VPN and managed switches...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

minimustangs

I've been involved in tech support for well over 2 decades. Have a ton of experience with networking and WiFi. An opportunity is presenting itself to me, but I realized that I have no experience with VLANs or VPNs.... And very minimally with managed switches. I'm sure there isn't anything overly complex (for someone with my experience) regard these points, but is there a resource that can give me the "nuts and bolts", basic info I need to speak to these when I meet with my potential new employer? I'll be googling on my own soon.... But always look to the collective for a better answer. Thanks

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
For VLANs and basic managed switch operations get yourself the CCNA two volume book set to prep for the exam from Cisco Press. It will go over a lot of foundational basics and then go up from there. VLANs will be covered but VPNs will not. VPNs is a whole other world to understand. Again Cisco Press has a few books on VPNs. As I write this, I'm staring at 4 Cisco Press books covering VPNs in my bookshelf; with 3 of them being very thick books.