VPN problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dkolbach

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 1999
Messages
41
Hello all:

My problem is as follows: I can connect to the network using VPN I see the entire network. I can browse the domain controllers (two of them) but I cannot access the other servers. I got two different types of errors:

1- “servername” not accessible, network path was not found. This error also occurs when browsing the network, click on a domain controller then click the back button to go back to the network.

2- “servername” access denied. I only got this message once. It said something like “the user has no logon wrights”

I can ping the entire network from the VPN client

Any ideas
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Try accessing the resources via IP adderss instead of by name. If you can do it that way you have a NetBIOS issue.
 

dkolbach

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 1999
Messages
41
Ok, when I tryied to access the computer using the ip address I got the following message:

Logon failure. The user has not been granted the requested logon type at this computer.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Do you have rights on those other servers?

Also, try adding the IP address and server name to your hosts and lmhosts files. Then you and connect to the server by name.
 

dkolbach

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 1999
Messages
41
i tryed the host and lmhost files. same result cannot access the servers.

There 4 servers on my network. From the internal network i can access all the servers. From the VPN i can only access the Domain Controlers (two).
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
The first part of the response was whether you have any rights on the servers. You should be logging in with the same username and password as is allows on the servers.
 

dkolbach

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 27, 1999
Messages
41
Yes i have rights to read and write in certain drives. From my internal network i can access them with no problem (all 4 of them). from the VPN i can only access the Domain controlers
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top