1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

vupoint scanning negatives

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by mickeyray, Jan 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mickeyray

    mickeyray Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I have seen a post about scanning negatives and that the vuepoint will only scan a positive as that and a negative as a neg., the post indicated that you can reverse the image in photo software. I am using photoshop elements 6.0 and I can not find anywhere where you can reverse the image from a negative to a positive. The vupoint scanner that I am using is a 21c wm-fc-vp. Can anyone help with how to make the negative scan work??:confused:
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    I normally use PS CS5 .. but I also have PSE 9 installed.
    To my surprise .. I could find invert in PSE 9 either.
    Try this ... Go to Levels .. and reverse The 0 <> 255 levels.

    And Welcome to the TSG forum
     

    Attached Files:

    • 11.gif
      11.gif
      File size:
      285.6 KB
      Views:
      110
    • 22.gif
      22.gif
      File size:
      243.3 KB
      Views:
      148
  3. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    Photoshop is too slow loading and complicated to use for general Viewing and editing ...
    So, I have Irfanview installed as my system default Viewer and Basic editor.
    It has a "negative" command .. and if this looks better, I'd probably let Irfanview batch process all the negatives.

    Do you have another Image Viewer/Editor installed ??
     

    Attached Files:

    • 11.gif
      11.gif
      File size:
      270.4 KB
      Views:
      146
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    I think I found it in PSE 9 ...
    Filter > Adjustments > Invert ... or try pressing Ctrl+I.
    I'm hoping it's still the same in PSE 6
     

    Attached Files:

    • 33.gif
      33.gif
      File size:
      256.5 KB
      Views:
      111
  5. mickeyray

    mickeyray Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    The ctrl+I worked... BAM instant invert!! Thank you, I really appreciate it :)
     
  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    I thought you'd like that .. And it'd work .. Adobe doesn't usually change the shortcut keys.
    Until PSE 9, there wasn't much reason to upgrade .. but the new PSE 9 has the new tools found in PS CS5.
    Specifically, the Content aware .. Seen here Starting about 2 min into the movie. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7-RfWiVIEw


    Holler anytime
     
  7. antimoth

    antimoth

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    361
    PSE will invert a negative that was copied directly, but I always got heavy orange cast on the final result that was hard to correct. Had this issue when using a camera to photograph a color negative.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975811

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice