W32.Magistr.corrupt Virus!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

starwolf39

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
276
My Norton VirusScan recently detected the W32.Magistr.corrupt virus on my computer. It said that the file could not be repaired and that access to it was denied. so i started running a virus check on my system and so far it hasn't picked up anything, but it's not done yet. i just wanted to know if there was a patch or something that i could get to fix this if the virus actually infected my computer. i'll post back later when the virus scan is complete and tell you guys the results. for now i just wanted to throw out the situation to you helpful ppl. thanks a lot!
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Maybe the file doesn't need to be repaired, as it may belong to the virus itself. In that case you can just delete it in 'Quarantaine'.
For I suppose that's where the file is now?

What is it called?
 

starwolf39

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
276
actually the file isn't in the quarantine. i looked for it there and it wasn't there. i also did a search on my entire computer for the file but i didn't find it anywhere.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Run your AV scanner again, but take a not of where it says it is. It may be in your tempory Internet Files, or from a page that has a malicoius scripting in.

I use AVP, and when I'm browsing, sometimes up it pops warning me about a virus, or malicous script. I come out of the page, but when I run a full scan, nothing comes up. Were you online when the message came up?

Regards

eddie
 

starwolf39

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
276
i caught the virus after downloading a file from Morpheus, a file sharing network on the internet. after that, I got two messages which said that W32.Magistr.corrupt had been found and could not be repaired, the other saying that it could not be accessed. i ran a full virus scan and nothing came up. since then i haven't experienced any problems.

still, is there a patch or something to fix this virus just in case in infected my system? i'm a little worried because the file was never repaired, could not be accessed, and was not placed in quarantine.

here's a copy of the norton activity log:

Date: 12/27/2001, Time: 16:38:14, joe on JOECOMP
The file
C:\Documents and Settings\joe\Desktop\kazaadownload10094890673712408.dat
is infected with the W32.Magistr.corrupt virus.
Unable to repair this file.


Date: 12/27/2001, Time: 16:38:14, joe on JOECOMP
The file
C:\Documents and Settings\joe\Desktop\kazaadownload10094890673712408.dat
is infected with the W32.Magistr.corrupt virus.
Access to the file was denied.


Date: 12/27/2001, Time: 16:38:46, joe on JOECOMP
Virus scan started.

Date: 12/27/2001, Time: 17:19:18, joe on JOECOMP
Virus scanning completed.
Master boot records:
Scanned: 1
Infected: 0
Repaired: 0
Boot records:
Scanned: 1
Infected: 0
Repaired: 0
Files:
Scanned: 103890
Infected: 0
Repaired: 0
Quar'ed: 0
Deleted: 0


thanks for the link above, i posted this message without seeing it.
 

starwolf39

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
276
OK I used the utility you gave me but it didn't find any infected files. When I restarted my computer, it started to go EXTREMELY slowly. Everything that I do goes much slower, and I don't know why. The only reason I cant think of is this virus. Any suffestions would be helpful.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Did you download the zip version? When you say it didn't run, you may have to look for the startup log.

eddie
 

starwolf39

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
276
yeah i got the zip version. i tried running exefix before since i read that the virus i believe i got affects EXE files. interestingly, the exefix didn't work, and both that file and the start up file are .com extension files. maybe those types aren't working correctly. any patch for those files??
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

The startup log that is inside the zip is a .com file. Just doubleclick on it and it will run.

eddie
 

starwolf39

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
276
actually that's exactly what i did. but when i ran the file, nothing happened. the program didnt do anything. the same thing happened when i ran another .com file.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Did a screen not come up and then go away?

Which other com file have you tried to run?
 

starwolf39

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
276
when i ran the start up program, an hourglass came up for about a split second and then vanished. nothing more. the other .com file that i tried to run was that exefix08 or whatever, which is also a .com file.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top