1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

w3dbsmgr.exe is using up all the memory

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Daan1992, Oct 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Daan1992

    Daan1992 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Hello,

    I have a pretty big problem.
    Im using a program called: Pervasive SQL
    But when its running for a while the database called: w3dbsmgr.exe
    Is using up all the RAM Memory.
    When i restart the computer it is normal again but after a while it again using up al the RAM Memory.

    I sincerely hope you can help me!

    With kind regards,
    Daan
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    What are the symptoms? Does everything work all right?
     
  3. Daan1992

    Daan1992 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    everything works nicely.
    But when this problem starts its usely that the icons in the program arent loading the pictures anymore so the start to turn black. When its showin a pop-up in the program it is only showing the bars around it. And its starting to get slower and slower.

    I hope this is enough of the symptons.

    With kind regards,
    Daan
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    How do you know that it is that program and how much RAM does it use?

    Have you tried updating/reinstalling the graphics drivers?
     
  5. Daan1992

    Daan1992 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    I mean its using al of the computer memory it almost isn't using the grafic card.
    This is one of the biggest problems with it I had the same problem with a older version of pervasive.
    When it isn't showing any of the pictures and starts to be really show I press ctrl + alt + del and than on top of the list stands w3dbsmgr.exe wich is using almost all of the memory available.

    With kind regards,
    Daan
     
  6. Daan1992

    Daan1992 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Does anybody know a solution?

    With kind regards,
    Daan
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,592
    Daan:

    I know nothing at all about the program that you're having a problem with, so I'm not going to address it.

    I don't see any mention as to how much RAM you have in that computer.

    You may have too many programs auto-loading and running in the background that are contributing to memory usage and reduction in speed and performance.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    This is from the bleepingcomputer site:

    w3dbsmgr.exe

    Description: Database Service Manager for Pervasive SQL 2000 Workgroup edition.

    Required if you use Pervasive SQL, but it's recommended you start it manually before using it, as it has a tendancy to crash/freeze if loaded with other applications at startup.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Daan1992

    Daan1992 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    It's different at the computers im using it on.
    Its running on Windows Xp and most of them have 1gb or more.
    This problem is normally when only the standard windows xp programs are running and nothing else.
    Only by a few of them sometimes Internet Explorer is running.

    What you found on the computersite might be something to look at because it is automaticly starting up every time windows starts. But this is the case because the people who work with it aren't that good with computers.

    Im gonna try to find myself some information too about the automaticly start-up freezing/crashing but is usely only crashes after a few weeks (pc is running all the time) but sometimes it happens a few times per day.

    With kind regards,
    Daan
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,592
    Maybe you can put a shortcut to the program on the desktop so they can manually start it when they need to use it.

    Anyway, good luck.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. Daan1992

    Daan1992 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    They got a shorcut to manually start it but thats the program thats running on the database, I can't let them start the database on their own 2 because the other computers in the building will freeze at the program when the database shutsdown.
    Thats also the reason why the computer is running for more then a few weeks.

    The other computers work on the same database thats why it cant be shutdown without restarting the other computers.
     
  11. Daan1992

    Daan1992 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    If been searching a lot on google but can't find anything about this problem.
    Is there somebody on this forum thats known with pervasive database?
    If so please help!
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/954998