W8 -> W10 upgrade fail

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

effingpot

Mike
Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
60
We are trying to upgrade a W8 system to W10 using the Media Creation tool, and it has failed several times and reverts back to W8.
The latest error message is:

AudMig: RegOpenKeyEx can't open audioendpointbuilder Upgrade key with Hresult 0x80070002. Most likely not an upgrade

Any suggestions welcome
thanks
Mike
 
Last edited:

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,094
We know nothing about your Windows 8 computer, so please do the following in it:

Download and save the tsginfo.exe file.
After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
Information about your computer will appear.
Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

-------------------------------------------------
 

effingpot

Mike
Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
60
Thanks Frank, here is the info:

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9 OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1, 64 bit, Build 9600, Installed

20161019182523.000000+060

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3, CPU Count: 8 Total Physical RAM: 16 GB Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Hard Drives: C: 1836 GB (1102 GB Free);

Motherboard: LENOVO SHARKBAY, ver 31900058 STD, s/n ES13796778

System: LENOVO, ver LENOVO - 1230, s/n ES13796778

Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,094
According to the information in your log, you have THIS Lenovo Erazer X510 Type 90AC Model 90AC57327869 Desktop.
According to its warranty section, it was purchased in December 2014 in the United Kingdom.
According to its recovery media section, it originally came with Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit or Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.

There could be any number of reasons why the upgrade process failed in your desktop.
We're not there, so it would be very difficult or impossible to diagnose the issue.

You should consider doing a clean install of Windows 10 64-bit in your desktop and getting a fresh start.
If you decide to go that route, make sure to back up any personal data you don't want to lose before you start.

-------------------------------------------------
 

effingpot

Mike
Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
60
Yeah I think that is the way we are going to go. We've backed up the personal data. Do you know if the license is free if we do a clean install and the best way to do it?
thanks, Mike
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,094
Windows 10 has already been installed and activated in it, so it will automatically re-activate after it's re-installed. (y)
 

effingpot

Mike
Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
60
Quick update. We tried to upgrade 2 ways now. The last way was to download W10 into a memory stick, disconnect from the internet (as somoene suggested) and install from that. It went quite well including the initial download and various installs and reboots but when it came to the final 'applying updates' part it bombed out with ..

We've set your PC back to the way it was just before you started installing Windows 10
0x800707E7 - 0x3000D
The installation failed in the FIRST_BOOT phase with an error during MIGRATE_DATA operation

this is the same as happened originally.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,094
It appears that an "upgrade" install of Windows 10 is not going to work for you, so you should bite the bullet and do a "clean" install.

I do not have good success with using a bootable USB thumb drive, but I have had 100% success with using a bootable DVD.

-------------------------------------------------
 

effingpot

Mike
Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
60
We ended up doing a clean install and so far it seems to have worked. Thanks for the pointers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top