1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Waht is the minimum resolution for DVD authoring

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by kaaos, Jan 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kaaos

kaaos Thread Starter

im using sony vegas(7) to render a video project. i captured the video at around 740x580. what rez should i render as for DVD quality when i save the file. also should i just render as mpeg?

thanks in advance!

2. linskyjack

linskyjack

What is your medium of delivery---Is this for the computer, back to tape, or for a DVD?

3. kaaos

kaaos Thread Starter

its for dvd. once rendered i guess i have to use that dvd architect that vegas came with. i just bought the 2 programs last week and i'm kind of new to all this.

as long as im asking, how much recorded time will fit in a 4.7gb dvd disk or does it have more to do with file size?

thanks

4. linskyjack

linskyjack

At the highest quality---about one hour and a half. If you lower the quality then you can increase that. Here is how I do it.

1. Edit the project in Vegas
    2. Select Render As (file menu I believe) and pick mpeg2 DVD NTSC. Save to wherever you want. If you have quiet a few changes and corrections it will take a while.
    3. Open DVD Architect. If you want the movie to just play when you pop it in a DVD player, then just fine the mpeg you rendered in Explorer and bring it in. Then click the burn to DVD icon and it will take you through the steps. If you are going to make a menu driven DVD, then the process is more complex.

5. kaaos

kaaos Thread Starter

i think the files i am trying to edit are to big:

let me start from the beginning: