1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Waiting for network problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by A New Dawn Fades, Jul 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. A New Dawn Fades

    A New Dawn Fades Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Hi guys,

    In the house we have two computers, one desktop and one laptop. Both run on Windows XP.

    We have a Buffalo WBMR-G54 router. Before I went on holiday two weeks ago the internet worked perfectly on both the desktop and laptop. No problems at all.

    Then I came back yesterday and I cannot connect to the wireless network using my laptop. The signal strength is perfect and my laptop automatically attempts to connect using the correct network.

    But all that happens is the status shows up as "acquiring network address" and then after a minute or so it fails to connect to the network.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have a firewall on laptop - may be worth removing that
    have you used your laptop on other wireless netwroks while away - have a look at the wireless preferences and see if you home one is at the top

    have you secruity on the wireless router
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Do you have encryption enabled on the router? If so, have you removed the saved network configuration from the wireless machine, searched for available networks, and keyed in the correct encryption key?

    Also, let's see this.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. A New Dawn Fades

    A New Dawn Fades Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    By encryption do you mean a network key? Yes I have one of those. I don't need to input it every time though, it just automatically attempts to connect to the network.


    Sorry, I don't fully understand what you mean by that:eek:

    With the IPCONFIG/ALL command you mean using the desktop right? If so this is it;

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Heather>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : home-16f6e702cb
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA PCI 10/100Mb Fast Ethernet Adapt
    er
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-87-AF-F9-BC

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11g/b Wireless LAN Client Adapte
    r - USB
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-10-74-03-8D-C3
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.11.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.11.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.11.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.11.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 14 July 2007 17:16:42
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 14 July 2007 18:16:42

    C:\Documents and Settings\Heather>
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, that IPCONFIG shows a connection that seems normal.

    Try these simple tests.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    PING 216.109.112.135

    Tell us the results.

    PING yahoo.com

    Tell us the results.
     
  6. A New Dawn Fades

    A New Dawn Fades Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Heather>PING 216.109.112.135

    Pinging 216.109.112.135 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=146ms TTL=54
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=146ms TTL=54
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=144ms TTL=54
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=147ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 144ms, Maximum = 147ms, Average = 145ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Heather>PING yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [216.109.112.135] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=145ms TTL=54
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=145ms TTL=54
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=145ms TTL=54
    Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=146ms TTL=54

    Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 145ms, Maximum = 146ms, Average = 145ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Heather>
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you have a desktop and a laptop - laptop on wireless
    so is this the desktop PC and if so its connected by wireless - which from your first post the desktop works all OK

    if all the above is from the laptop - then look at the firewall - switch it off - exit
     
  8. A New Dawn Fades

    A New Dawn Fades Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    All of the above results are from the desktop which connects to the wireless network perfectly fine. Should I post the results for the laptop (as it's not connected I didn't think it would tell us much).

    How do I find out about firewalls and where to switch them off?
     
  9. A New Dawn Fades

    A New Dawn Fades Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I'm just firing ideas around now but apparently while I was away the desktop computer broke and had to be repaired. I mean completely died.

    Is it possible that some settings have changed?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/595607

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice