1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wake On LAN

Discussion in 'Networking' started by SteOasisFan, Jun 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SteOasisFan

SteOasisFan Thread Starter

hey,

i work in a school as a technician, i have a room full of computers...they all have the same hardware spec, they all are build and setup exactly the same, the settings in the BIOS are exactly the same, the windows XP settings are the same. however, when i send a wake up command only 4 machines in the room will wake up.

any ideas what i could check? one of the main things i noticed was on some of the machines (the ones that wake up) the driver for the network card is not digitally signed..surely that wouldn't make a difference...would it?

regards

SteOasisFan

2. joebogey

joebogey

Just to be sure make sure that it is enabled within the BIOS of the hardware, also check on OS Settings, if they are asleep you have to make sure OS will allow activity to bring alive, I think it is in power settings.

Finally check your BIOS revisions. Hope this helps.

3. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

Well, everything is NOT the same, since you have a different driver in some of the machines. Since that is the principal difference, I'd investigate that further. :) I assume you've checked the BIOS for the WOL option being enabled, as well as the properties of the NIC in Device Manager for the WOL options, correct?

4. SteOasisFan

SteOasisFan Thread Starter

yeah ive tried everything, changing so they have the same drivers! all the options in the BIOS are enabled with regards to WOL and everything in the OS and Hardware configurations.

its so damn frustrating!!!