1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wake on lan

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by salbast, Jul 9, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. salbast

    salbast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    does anybody know any information on how to get wake on lan to work on a lan? any informationa would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
  3. salbast

    salbast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    thanks for the link but it didn't really explain what I needed to know. ok. here's the deal. I hooked up the network card and set what I had to set in bios and in the network card's properties box. tried to send a magic pacet and nothing... anybody know what i'm doing wrong???
     
  4. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    Waking up the target machine requires knowing the station address of the target adapter. If a machine has multiple network interfaces, you must identify the one with the WOL cable attached and use that interface's station address.

    What wake-up program are you using?

    Do the NIC adapters being used supported it?

    Are firmware updates available and need applying?

    Also here's another good link on it:

    http://www.amd.com/us-en/Networking/NetworkingApplications/0,,50_2332_2627_2481,00.html
     
  5. salbast

    salbast Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    YUP. I know the mac address. I'm not using a program for it though. there's a command in dos to do it. I don't remember off the top of my head what the command is, but it's not working. I flashed the BIOS, the network card does support it. it's weird. it worked on a test machine at home, but it's not working at my job. which firmware are you refering to that needed apdating.

    Also does anybody know where i can get my hands on these WOL cables?
     
  6. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/86519

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice