Wallwart power supply re-purposing question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JoeShmoeJohnDoe

Mac Daddy Flex
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2018
Messages
29
I have inherited a power supply-less, remote-less Kodak EasyShare SV1011 from the trash and I have a hoard of Wallwarts so I found the closest thing to the original and attached the appropriate plug/spliced the cords and It works... For now... But I'm not sure how safe this is. I already showed it to gramma and she wants it so It's just too late to turn back, either I gotta buy a power supply or another Kodak gizmo if this thing isn't safe enough.

Intended Power Adapter: 12VDC @ 1.5A

Used Power Adapter: Cisco OEM Model ADS0202-U120267 50/60Hz 0.6A Output 12V @ 1.67A
Power Consumption: 18W
Serial?: KCMVZ815J04427
Manufactured April 2007
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
If the polarity and voltage is the same, and the amperage is the same or higher on the adapter then you are fine. More available current is fine. That is as long as your splicing is good, make sure it's soldered properly and shrink wrapped or electrically taped so no wires are exposed, coming loose, or can touch.
 

JoeShmoeJohnDoe

Mac Daddy Flex
Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 8, 2018
Messages
29
If the polarity and voltage is the same, and the amperage is the same or higher on the adapter then you are fine. More available current is fine. That is as long as your splicing is good, make sure it's soldered properly and shrink wrapped or electrically taped so no wires are exposed, coming loose, or can touch.
So these power adapters only supply the required amperage? I've joined wires before and it's clean but I wasn't sure the adapter was gonna go full buck on the device. I had no idea they worked that way.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
226
I bought a 'brand new' 24" Samsung monitor1-2 years back. It was/is near 10 years old, but was NEVER used. Outfit bought all these comps/monitors/etc, took everything out of the boxes and didnt need one monitor. Somewhere along the line they lost the power supply for it, I got it for $20. I happened to have a Dell power supply, same voltage, slightly higher amps, works perfectly. This Samsung was built/assembled in Tiajuana Mexico, to date it. I have boxes of many various power supplies, this has paid off nicely for me.

-c-
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top